NSB Statement

Statements from NSB Chair and Acting NSF Director on the passing of Steven C. Beering

Beering served on the NSB 2002-2010 and as its Chair 2006-2010

Dr. Steve Beering

Dr. Steve Beering (Credit and Larger Version)

April 7, 2020


Dr. Steven C. Beering began serving on the National Science Board in 2002. In 2006, he was voted Chair of the Board and he served in that capacity until he completed his service in May of 2010. He died on April 6, 2020. A self-proclaimed "builder of people," Dr. Beering brought to the National Science Board the same passion for science and people with which he led Purdue University for almost 20 years.


Below are statements from current NSB Chair, Dr. Diane Souvaine, and NSF Acting Director, Dr. Kelvin Droegemeier.


"He was the National Science Board Chair when I first joined the Board in 2008 and he set the example with which I have tried to serve during my tenure as Board Chair. He was a terrific leader and even more generous human being."

– Dr. Diane Souvaine, Chair, National Science Board


"Dr. Steve Beering led an exceptional life and was one of our Nation's foremost leaders -- as a physician, including to a President and the Original Seven NASA astronauts, as the chief executive for nearly two decades of one of the world's foremost universities, and as a public servant.  Dr. Beering was a champion of science and for four years Chaired the National Science Board.  Although his quick mind, charm, wisdom, and bountiful array of stories will be greatly missed, his broad and deep impact will remain for decades to come."

– Dr. Kelvin Droegemeier, Acting Director, National Science Foundation


About the National Science Board

The National Science Board and the National Science Foundation's Director jointly head NSF. NSB identifies issues critical to NSF's future and establishes the Foundation's policies. The NSB also provides the President and Congress with Science and Engineering Indicators, a biennial report on the state of science and engineering in the United States. Members are appointed by the President for six-year terms and selected for their eminence in research, education and records of distinguished service.


Media contact: Nadine Lymn, National Science Board Office, (703) 292-2490, nlymn@nsf.gov

Media Contact: Jennifer Plozai, National Science Foundation, (703) 292-8044, jplozai@nsf.gov

The U.S. National Science Foundation propels the nation forward by advancing fundamental research in all fields of science and engineering. NSF supports research and people by providing facilities, instruments and funding to support their ingenuity and sustain the U.S. as a global leader in research and innovation. With a fiscal year 2020 budget of $8.3 billion, NSF funds reach all 50 states through grants to nearly 2,000 colleges, universities and institutions. Each year, NSF receives more than 40,000 competitive proposals and makes about 11,000 new awards. Those awards include support for cooperative research with industry, Arctic and Antarctic research and operations, and U.S. participation in international scientific efforts.

Useful NSB Web Sites:

Home Page: http://www.nsf.gov/nsb
Media Contact: http://www.nsf.gov/staff/staff_bio.jsp?lan=nlymn&org=NSF
News: http://www.nsf.gov/nsb/news
Meetings: http://www.nsf.gov/nsb/meetings
Publications: http://www.nsf.gov/nsb/publications
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/NationalScienceBoard
Twitter: Twitter: https://twitter.com/intent/user?screen_name=NSF_NSB
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCkrHRzuGSrPp2haQs0T_Pww

To view PDF documents, please download Adobe Acrobat Reader.