Media Advisory

National Science Board to meet May 14-15, 2019, in Alexandria, VA

May 8, 2019

The National Science Board (NSB, Board) will meet May 14-15, 2019, to address science and engineering policy issues relevant to the National Science Foundation (NSF). Members of the media and the public are invited to open portions of the meeting, which will also be webcast: The meeting agenda is available here.

2019 recipients of the Vannevar Bush Award (Walter Massey), Alan T. Waterman Award (Jennifer Dionne and Mark Braverman), NSB Public Service Award (Barbara Schaal) and Diamond Achievement Award (Sheperd Doeleman for EHT) will give presentations at the meeting. (NSB Public Service award recipients, Tyrone Taborn and Eugene DeLoatch, co-founders of the Black Engineer of the Year Awards conference (BEYA) will present at a future meeting.) 

Meeting sessions open to the public on Tuesday, May 14, 2019:

NSB Plenary (8:00 – 8:30 a.m.)

NSB chair Diane Souvaine will give opening remarks, followed by remarks from NSF director France Córdova. The chair will also address formation of the Board’s Vision 2030 Task Force.


Committee on Awards and Facilities (8:30 – 9:15 a.m.)

The Committee on Awards and Facilities will provide a summary of the Committee’s recent April Retreat and receive an update on the National Ecological Observatory Network (NEON).

In closed session, the committee will consider action items for two awards.


Committee on External Engagement (10:45 – 11:15 a.m.)

The Committee on External Engagement will discuss hosting Members of Congress in their home districts, provide an update on the Alumni Communications Network and unveil new promotional videos.


NSB Plenary (11:15 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.)

The Board will hear presentations from the 2019 recipients of the Vannevar Bush Award and Alan T. Waterman Award.

·         Jennifer Dionne, Alan T. Waterman Award recipient

·         Walter Massey, Vannevar Bush Award recipient


NSB Plenary (1:00 – 1:45 p.m.)

The Board will hear presentations from 2019 recipients of the NSB Public Service Award and the Diamond Achievement Award.

·         Barbara Schaal, NSB Public Service Award recipient

·         Sheperd Doeleman on behalf of the Event Horizon Telescope project, Diamond Achievement Award


Committee on Strategy (1:45 – 3:00 p.m.)

The Committee on Strategy will receive two briefings from NSF: Update on the Big Ideas and a summary of the Federal STEM Education Strategic Plan. There will also be updates on any developments on the FY 2019 Current Plan and the FY 2020 Budget Request.


Committee on National Science and Engineering Policy (3:00 – 3:55 p.m.)

The Committee on National Science and Engineering Policy will hear updates and discuss the progress of the Science and Engineering Indicators 2020 Thematic Reports and “Summary Report.”


Meeting sessions open to the public on Wednesday, May 15, 2019:

Committee on Oversight (9:00 – 10:15 a.m.)

The Committee on Oversight will hear a presentation from NSF on the modernization of the Merit Review Report and will discuss and vote on recommendations to the full Board on the future schedule of the Merit Review Report. The Committee will also hear updates from NSF’s Chief Financial Officer and the Inspector General and receive the Office of the Inspector General’s Semiannual Report.


Task Force on the Skilled Technical Workforce (10:30 – 11:30 a.m.)

The Task Force on the Skilled Technical Workforce (STW)will hear a presentation from NSF on investments being made across NSF for STW development and review the draft final report. 


NSB Plenary (11:30 – 11:50 a.m.)

The Board will hear a presentation from 2019 recipient of the Alan T. Waterman award, Mark Braverman.


Vision 2030 Task Force (12:45 – 1:25 p.m.)

The Vision 2030 Task Force will hear updates and discuss the Vision Project.


NSB Plenary (2:15 – 2:45 p.m.)

The Board will hear brief updates from Committee Chairs, conduct votes on Merit Review Report recommendations from the Committee on Oversight, the Semi-Annual OIG Report, and approve the Executive Committee Report. 

In closed plenary session, the Board will hear closed committee reports and vote on two action items referred by the Committee on Awards and Facilities.

In plenary executive closed session, the Board will hold elections for two at-large seats on the Executive Committee.


About the National Science Board

The National Science Board and the National Science Foundation's Director jointly head NSF. NSB identifies issues critical to NSF's future and establishes the Foundation's policies. The NSB also provides the President and Congress with Science and Engineering Indicators, a biennial report on the state of science and engineering in the United States. Members are appointed by the President for six-year terms and selected for their eminence in research, education and records of distinguished service.

Note: Reporters are invited to attend all open sessions, subject to provisions of the Government in the Sunshine Act. All sessions will be held at the NSF headquarters—please note our address is 2415 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, Virginia.  Journalists interested in attending and covering the meeting should contact Kim Silverman at (703) 292-4515 or

The U.S. National Science Foundation propels the nation forward by advancing fundamental research in all fields of science and engineering. NSF supports research and people by providing facilities, instruments and funding to support their ingenuity and sustain the U.S. as a global leader in research and innovation. With a fiscal year 2020 budget of $8.3 billion, NSF funds reach all 50 states through grants to nearly 2,000 colleges, universities and institutions. Each year, NSF receives more than 40,000 competitive proposals and makes about 11,000 new awards. Those awards include support for cooperative research with industry, Arctic and Antarctic research and operations, and U.S. participation in international scientific efforts.

Useful NSB Web Sites:

Home Page:
Media Contact:
Twitter: Twitter:

To view PDF documents, please download Adobe Acrobat Reader.