Skip To Content Skip To Left Navigation
NSF Logo Search GraphicGuide To Programs GraphicImage Library GraphicSite Map GraphicHelp GraphicPrivacy Policy Graphic
OLPA Header Graphic

NSF Press Release


NSF PR 99-59 - October 4, 1999

Media contact:

 Bill Noxon

 (703) 292-8070

Program contact:

 Victor Santiago

 (703) 306-1633

This material is available primarily for archival purposes. Telephone numbers or other contact information may be out of date; please see current contact information at media contacts.

Presidential Award Honors Science, Mathematics And Engineering Mentors

Ten individuals and five institutions are receiving the 1999 Presidential Award for Excellence in Science, Mathematics and Engineering Mentoring. The award is administered and funded through the National Science Foundation (NSF).

President Clinton honors individuals and groups that have been exemplary in their encouragement of minorities, women and persons with disabilities to pursue careers in scientific, engineering and technical fields. The president has said that they would "serve as examples to their colleagues and will be leaders in the national effort to train the next century of scientists, mathematicians and engineers."

"No personal influence is as powerful, long-lasting, and positive as that of a superlative mentor. The mentors receiving this award today are a true national resource who play a key role in defining the quality of our nation's future human resources in science, mathematics, technology and engineering," said NSF director Rita Colwell.

Up to 10 individuals and 10 institutions annually may qualify for the national award, which includes a $10,000-grant and a commemorative presidential certificate.

The mentoring awards recognize a long-term commitment to providing opportunities for greater participation in science and engineering by all Americans. The awards do this by honoring those whose personal and organizational activities have increased participation of underrepresented groups in mathematics, engineering and science from kindergarten through graduate level.

This year's awardees were selected from among 36 nominated for the individual awards and another 19 from institutions.


Attachment: List of 1999 winners (individuals and institutions)

See also:


Presidential Award for Excellence in Science, Mathematics and Engineering Mentoring


Ajay K. Bose, Stevens Institute of Technology, Hoboken, NJ
George Castro, San Jose State University
Meera Chandrasekhar, University of Missouri-Columbia
Harold Deutschman, New Jersey Institute of Technology-Newark
Samuel F. Hart, Sr., Mercer University, Macon, Georgia
Ram S. Lamba, University of Puerto Rico-Cayey
Raymond B. Landis, California State University-Los Angeles
Zafra M. Lerman, Columbia College, Chicago
Richard L. Radtke, University of Hawaii-Manoa
Mary L. Soffa, University of Pittsburgh


Oregon State University, Science and Mathematics Investigative Learning Experiences
Susan J. Borden

University of California-Santa Cruz, Academic Excellence (ACE) Honors Program
Nancy J. Cox-Konopelski

University of Virginia, Office of Minority Programs in the School of Engineering and Applied Science
Carolyn Vallas

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, Douglass Project for Women in Mathematics, Science and Engineering
Joseph J. Seneca

The University of Michigan, Undergraduate Research Opportunity Program
Fawwaz T. Ulaby




National Science Foundation
Office of Legislative and Public Affairs
4201 Wilson Boulevard
Arlington, Virginia 22230, USA
Tel: 703-292-8070
FIRS: 800-877-8339 | TDD: 703-292-5090

NSF Logo Graphic