text-only page produced automatically by LIFT Text
Transcoder Skip all navigation and go to page contentSkip top navigation and go to directorate navigationSkip top navigation and go to page navigation
National Science Foundation
design element
News From the Field
For the News Media
Special Reports
Research Overviews
NSF-Wide Investments
Speeches & Lectures
Speeches & Presentations by the NSF Director
Speeches & Presentations by the NSF Deputy Director
Speech Archives
Speech Contacts
NSF Current Newsletter
Multimedia Gallery
News Archive


Photo of Joseph Bordogna

Dr. Joseph Bordogna
Deputy Director
Chief Operating Officer
National Science Foundation

Introduction of DTS (Distinguished Teaching Scholar) Awardees
National Academy of Sciences
June 2, 2004

Good evening everyone. Thank you for joining us and sharing the honor of participating in this singular ceremony.

To the awardees: You are among our nation’s brightest and most innovative and integrative scientists, engineers, mathematicians, and educators. All of us now have the pleasuring of letting you know how truly inspiring it is for us to enjoy your presence in society.

This is the fourth year of the NSF Distinguished Teaching Scholar Awards, which were created to recognize and promote excellence in the creative and skillful integration of research and education. The awards also focus on individuals who demonstrate strong mentoring and leadership capabilities in their scholarly approach to education and research. The awards, as well, highlight institutions of higher education that support faculty who contribute substantially to these holistic ends, thus setting the example for other institutions to follow.

The success of the Distinguished Teaching Scholars program is exciting and encouraging. Students and the general citizenry nationwide benefit directly and indirectly from the work of our Distinguished Teaching Scholars. Fellow faculty in both K-12 and higher education gain insight into ways they, too, can effectively unite research and education. The National Science Foundation learns from these experiences and sees the fruition of the goals in its strategic plan, and in our core strategies of investing in intellectual capital, integrating research and education, and promoting partnerships. This all takes place while the awardees continue to impact the scientific, academic, and every-day world. It goes without saying that the efforts of our awardees are recognized as exemplary among their peers.

We applaud each awardee – for the curiosity that drives you to investigate unresolved mysteries, for the imagination you use to unveil them, for your generosity and determination to awaken these gifts in those you teach, and for your commitment to carry forward this distinguished asset which so enriches our nation.

Now let’s present our Distinguished Teaching Scholars with their well-deserved awards.

Dr. Alice M. Agogino is the Roscoe and Elizabeth Hughes Professor of Mechanical Engineering at the University of California at Berkeley. She received her Bachelors degree in Mechanical Engineering from the University of New Mexico and her Ph.D. degree in Engineering and Economic Systems from Stanford University. Dr. Agogino aims to develop a service learning class on human-centered design for undergraduates coupled with a senior/graduate level course on engineering education. In addition, she will catalog, evaluate and annotate on-line resources in science, engineering and mathematics education digital libraries.

Dr. Thomas F. Banchoff is Professor of Mathematics at Brown University. He earned his Bachelors degree in mathematics from the University of Notre Dame and his Masters and Ph.D. degrees in mathematics from the University of California at Berkeley. Dr. Banchoff will widely disseminate an original approach to undergraduate mathematics instruction called Interactive Internet-Based Teaching and Learning in Mathematics. He will develop the format to make it suitable for use in courses for mathematics majors, for science students, for liberal arts students, and for teacher training programs.

Dr. Walter C. Oechel is Professor of Biology and Director of the Global Change Research Group at San Diego State University. He received his Bachelors degree from San Diego State University and his Ph.D. from the University of California at Riverside. Dr. Oechel will develop a Web-based curriculum which provides accessible lessons to diverse users on the effects of climate change in various regions. The new curriculum will highlight the importance of climate change, the real-world application of scientific data and concepts, and how climatic events in one region, such as El Niño events, affect climate change, such as arctic oscillations, in other regions.

Dr. David F. Ollis is Distinguished Professor of Chemical Engineering at North Carolina State University. He earned his Bachelors degree in chemical engineering from the California Institute of Technology and his Ph.D. in chemical engineering from Stanford University. Dr. Ollis will explore the use of modules that use light-driven technologies to teach science and technology to students in the College of Humanities and Social Sciences, the College of Education, and the College of Design at North Carolina State University. He hopes to serve engineering and science students enrolled in foreign language courses, those who teach technology in grades 6-12, and industrial design students.

Dr. Susan E. Powers is Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering at Clarkson University. She received her Bachelors degree in chemical engineering from Clarkson University and her Ph.D. in environmental engineering from the University of Michigan. Dr. Powers aims to identify the knowledge and skills necessary to increase the technical and environmental awareness of energy issues, and to improve the implementation of project-based energy and environment curricula in K-16 classrooms.

Dr. Julio J. Ramirez is the R. Stuart Dickson Professor at Davidson College in the Department of Psychology. He received his Bachelors degree in psychology from Fairfield University and his Ph.D. in biopsychology from Clark University. Dr. Ramirez’s focus is on mentoring and mentorship. He will develop summer research programs to assist junior faculty to launch careers that integrate teaching and research in the neurosciences, and mentor undergraduates in conducting research.

Dr. Kenneth G. Tobin is Distinguished Professor of Urban Education at the Graduate Center of the City University of New York. He received his Bachelors degree in physics from Western Australia Institute of Technology, a Bachelors of Education from Murdoch University, and a Doctor of Education degree in science education from the University of Georgia. Dr. Tobin hopes to improve the quality of college science teaching, especially in courses for teachers and teacher candidates, and to improve the quality of urban science education in classes taught by new teachers. He will design professional development activities that will impact researchers of teaching and learning science, as well as science teacher education, curriculum development and policy formulation.

Dr. Dean A. Zollman is a Distinguished University Professor at Kansas State University. He received Bachelors and Masters degrees in physics from Indiana University, Bloomington, and his Ph.D. in theoretical nuclear physics from the University of Maryland, College Park. Dr. Zollman aims to conduct research on the reasoning and the models that students use as they transfer basic physics knowledge to the application of physics in contemporary medicine. He plans to use the results of this research to develop teaching-learning materials to help students learn about the applications of 20th and 21st century physics to contemporary medical diagnosis procedures.

Return to a list of Dr. Bordogna's speeches.


Email this pagePrint this page
Back to Top of page