NSF Logo

Federal Cyber Service:
Scholarship For Service (SFS)

Student Placement Issues:
Exploration of the Solution Space

A report from a NSF workshop
held August 5 -6, 2003.

I. Executive Summary
II. Introduction
III. Actions Taken in
Response to Problem
IV. Recommendations
Meeting Participants

SFS Program Statistics

Agencies That Have
Hired SFS Students
NSF Disclaimer and
Contact Information

APPENDIX 1: Meeting Participants

Blaine Burnham, PhD
University of Nebraska
1110 South 67th Street
Peter Keiwit Institute, Room 280
Omaha, NE 68182-0694
Phone: 402-554-2039
Fax: 402-554-2088
Email: bburnham@mail.unomaha.edu

Ernest McDuffie, PhD
Program Director
Division of Undergraduate Education
National Science Foundation
4201 Wilson Boulevard, Room 835
Arlington, VA 22230
Phone: 703-292-4655
Fax: 703-292-9016
Email: emcduffi@nsf.gov
Bei-Tseng Chu, PhD
University of North Carolina at Charlotte
Department of Software and Information Systems
9201 University City Boulevard
Charlotte, NC 28223
Phone: 704-687-4568
Fax: 704-687-6065
Email: billchu@uncc.edu
Don McGillen, PhD
Executive Director
Carnegie Mellon University
Center for Computer and Communications Security
4616 Henry Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15213
Phone: 412-268-6755
Fax: 412-268-1460
Email: mcgillen@cmu.edu
Melissa Dark, PhD
Associate Professor, Assistant Dean
Purdue University
School of Technology, CERIAS
Knoy Hall
West Lafayette, IN 47907
Phone: 765-496-6761
Fax: 765-496-3181
Email: dark@cerias.purdue.edu
Leah M. Meisel
Deputy Associate Director
Office of Personnel Management
Strategic Human Resources Policy
Center for Talent and Capacity Policy
1900 E Street, NW
Washington, DC 20415
Phone: 202-606-8097
Fax: 202-606-2329
Email: lmmeisel@opm.gov
James Davis, PhD
Associate Professor
Iowa State University
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
2413 Coover Hall
Ames, IA 50011
Phone: 515-294-0659
Fax: 515-294-1717
Email: davis@iastate.edu
Nasir Memon, PhD
Associate Professor
Polytechnic University
6 Metro Tech Center, Computer Science
Brooklyn, NY 11201
Phone: 718-260-3970
Fax: 718-260-3609
Email: memon@poly.edu

Seymour E. Goodman
Professor of International Affairs and Computing and Co-Director, Georgia Tech Information Security Center
Georgia Institute of Technology
781 Marietta Street, NW
Atlanta, GA 30332-0610
Phone: 404-385-1461
Fax: 404-894-1900
Email: goodman@cc.gatech.edu

Loretta A. Moore , PhD
Associate Professor and Chair
Jackson State University
Department of Computer Sciences
PO Box 18839
Jackson, MS 39217
Phone: 601-979-2105
Fax: 601-979-2478
Email: loretta.a.moore@jsums.edu
Miguel Hernández
San Antonio Services Section, Office of Personnel Management
8610 Broadway, Suite 305
San Antonio, TX 78217
Phone: 210-805-2423 x502
Fax: 210-805-2407
Email: mxhernan@opm.gov
Christine M. Nickell, BA
Manager, DoD IASP Program
NSA, National Information Assurance Education and Training Program
9800 Savage Road, Attn: 12 – NIETP, Ste 6752
Fort Meade, MD 20755-6752
Phone: 410-854-6206
Fax: 410-854-7043
Email: c.nicke2@radium.ncsc.mil
Lance J. Hoffman, PhD
George Washington University
Computer Science Department
Washington, DC 20052
Phone: 202-994-4955
Fax: 202-994-4875
Email: lanceh@gwu.edu
Susan Older, PhD
Associate Professor
Syracuse University
EECS Department
CST 2-177
Syracuse, NY 13244
Phone: 315-443-4679
Fax: 315-443-1122
Email: sueo@ecs.syr.edu
Cynthia Irvine, PhD
Associate Professor, Director, CISR
Naval Postgraduate School
Code CS/IC, Computer Sciences Department
Naval Postgraduate School
Monterey, CA 93943
Phone: 831-656-2461
Fax: 831-656-2814
Email: irvine@nps.navy.mil
Nancy Randa, MSIR
Deputy Associate Director for Talent Services
Office of Personnel Management
Human Resources Products and Services
1900 E Street, NW, Room 6530
Washington, DC 20415
Phone: 202-606-1491
Fax: 202-606-1399
Email: neranda@opm.gov

Lorie M. Liebrock, PhD
Assistant Professor
New Mexico Tech
Computer Sciences Department
801 Leroy Place
Socorro, NM 87801
Phone: 505-835-6729
Fax: 505-835-5587
Email: liebrock@cs.nmt.edu

Sujeet Shenoi, PhD
Professor of Computer Science
University of Tulsa
Computer Science Department
600 South College Avenue
Tulsa, OK 74104-3189
Phone: 918-631-3269
Fax: 918-631-3306
Email: sujeet@utulsa.edu
William V. Maconachy, PhD
Manager NIETP
National Security Agency
9800 Savage Road
Fort Meade, MD 20755-6752
Phone: 410-854-6206
Fax: 410-854-7043
Email: w.macona@radium.ncsc.mil
Ray Vaughn, PhD
Associate Professor
Mississippi State University
Department of Computer Science and Engineering
PO Box 9637
Mississippi State, MS 39762
Phone: 662-325-7450
Fax: 662-325-8997
Email: vaughn@cse.msstate.edu

Gerald M. Masson, PhD
Johns Hopkins University
Whiting School of Engineering
Information Security Institute
3400 North Charles Street
Wyman Park Building, Room 407
Baltimore, MD 21218
Phone: 410-516-7013
Fax: 410-516-3301
Email: masson@jhu.edu


Alec Yasinsac, PhD
Assistant Professor
Florida State University
Computer Science Department
262 James Jay Love Building
Computer Science Department
Tallahassee, FL 32306-4530
Phone: 850-644-6407
Fax: 850-644-0058
Email: yasinsac@fsu.edu

<-- Start

Next -->