Historically Black Colleges and Universities - Excellence in Research  (HBCU- EiR) NSF Wide Programs


CONTACTS
Name Email Phone Room
Claudia  Rankins crankins@nsf.gov (703) 292-8109   
Michelle  Claville mclavill@nsf.gov (703) 292-7751   
Randy  Phelps rphelps@nsf.gov (703) 292-5049   
Leah  Nichols lenichol@nsf.gov (703) 292-2983   
Fay  Cobb Payton fpayton@nsf.gov (703) 292-7939   
Kwabena  Gyimah-Brempong kgyimahb@nsf.gov (703) 292-7466   
Jodie  Jawor jjawor@nsf.gov (703) 292-7887   
Brandon  Jones mbjones@nsf.gov (703) 292-4713   
Kathleen  McCloud kmccloud@nsf.gov (703) 292-8236   
Engin  Serpersu eserpers@nsf.gov (703) 292-7124   
Paige  Smith psmith@nsf.gov (703) 292-7107   
Guebre  X. Tessema gtessema@nsf.gov (703) 292-4935   


PROGRAM GUIDELINES

Solicitation  20-542

Important Information for Proposers

A revised version of the NSF Proposal & Award Policies & Procedures Guide (PAPPG) (NSF 20-1), is effective for proposals submitted, or due, on or after June 1, 2020. Please be advised that, depending on the specified due date, the guidelines contained in NSF 20-1 may apply to proposals submitted in response to this funding opportunity.


DUE DATES

Full Proposal Deadline Date

    October 6, 2020

    First Tuesday in October, Annually Thereafter

Excellence in Research proposals are evaluated by ad hoc reviews, panel reviews, or both.


SYNOPSIS

The Historically Black Colleges and Universities - Excellence in Research (HBCU-EiR) program was established in response to direction provided in the Senate Commerce and Justice, Science and Related Agencies Appropriations Subcommittee Report (Senate Report 115-139), and is built on prior and continuing efforts by the National Science Foundation (NSF) to strengthen research capacity at Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs). This report provided guidance to NSF to establish the HBCU Excellence in Research program "to provide opportunities for both public and private HBCUs, particularly for those who have not been successful in larger NSF Research & Related Activities competitions, in order to stimulate sustainable improvement in their research and development capacity" (https://congress.gov/congressional-report/115th-congress/senate-report/139/1). EiR supports such capacity building by funding research projects aligned with NSF’s research programs. The program aims to establish stronger connections between researchers at HBCUs and NSF’s research programs.

What Has Been Funded (Recent Awards Made Through This Program, with Abstracts)

Map of Recent Awards Made Through This Program