nsf logoReport of the NSF Workshop
on Force Transduction in Biology

July 24–26, 2000 • Arlington, VA

Bypass Navigation
Home
Summary
Table of Contents
I. Overview
II. Summary of Invited Talks
 A. Monday,
July 24
 B. Tuesday,
July 25
 C. Wednesday,
July 26
III. Conclusions and Recommendations
Conference Participants

Conference Participants

Barak, Eve
ebarak@nsf.gov
NSF
Bausch, Andreas
abausch@deas.harvard.edu
Division of Engineering and Applied Sciences
Harvard University
McKay Lab 5th Fl.
Cambridge, MA 02138
Ben-Simon, David
David.Bensimon@lps.ens.fr
Ecole Normale
24, rue Lhomond
75005 Paris
FRANCE
Boal, David
david_boal@sfu.ca
Dept. of Physcis
Simon Fraser University
Vancouver BS
CANADA V5A 156
Braam, Janet
braam@bioc.rice.edu
Dept. of Biochemistry & Cell Biology
Rice University
W200P George R. Brown Hall
Houston, TX 77005
Brodland, G. Wayne
brodland@sunburn.uwaterloo.ca
Dept. of Civil Engineering
University of Waterloo
Waterloo, ON, N@L 2G1
CAMADA
Bronkhorst, Philippine University of Amsterdam
Department of Molecular Cytology Amsterdam
The Netherlands
Brownell, William E.
brownell@bcm.tmc.edu
Department of Otolaryngology
Baylor Medical School
Neurosensory Center, NEUR A508
Houston, TX 77030
Bruinsma, Robijn UCLA
2-240B Knudsen
mail code: 154705
Department of Physics & Astronomy
Los Angeles, CA 90095-1361
Burger, Elisabeth
eh.burger.ocb.acta@med.vu.nl
Department of Oral Cell
Van der Boechorst Straat 7
ACTA - Free University
1081BT Amsterdam
Netherlands
Buxbaum, Robert
buxbaum@pilot.msu.edu
Michigan State University
23 Giltner Hall
East Lansing, MI 48824
Carter, Dennis R.
dcarter@leland.stanford.edu
Stanford University
Department of Mechanical Engineering
Biomechanical Engineering Division
Stanford, CA 94305
Chadwick, Richard S. NIH/NIDCD intramural
NIH Bldg 9 Rm 1E-116
9 Center 9 MSC 0922
Bethesda MD 20892
Chien, Shu
shuchien@ucsd.edu
Director
Whitaker Institute of Biomedical Engineering
UCSD
La Jolla, CA 92093
Chin, Jean
chinj@nigms.nih.gov
NIH-NIGMS
Cell Biology & Biophysics
45 Center Drive
Bethesda, MD 20892-6200
Cooke, Mary
cooke@surgery.wisc.edu
Department of Surgery
University of Wisconsin
Clinical Science Center-Core H5 BX3236
600 Highland Ave
Madison, WI 53792
Cowin, Steven
scccc@cunyvm.cuny.edu
Dept. of Mechanical Engineering
City College of New York
Convent Ave. at 138th St.
New York, NY 10031
Davies, Peter F.
pfd@pobox.upenn.edu
Professor and Director Institute for Medicine and Engineering
University of Pennsylvania
1010 Vagelos Laboratories
3340 Smith Walk
Philadelphia, PA 19104
Discher, Dennis
discher@seas.upenn.edu
University of Pennsylvania
112 Towne Bldg.
Philadelphia, PA 19104-6315
Elson, Elliot
elson@biochem.wustl.edu
Biochemistry & Molecular Biophysics
Washington University Medical School
Campus Box 8231
St. Louis, MO 63130
Evans, Evan
evans@physics.ubc.ca
Boston University
Biomedical Engineering
44 Cummington Street
Boston, MA 02215
Fernandez, Julio
fernandez.julio@mayo.edu
Mayo Clinic Foundation
Dept. of Physiology and Biophysics
200 First St. S.W.
Rochester, MN 55905
Flicker, Paula F.
flickerp@nigms.nih.gov
NIH- NIGMS
Bldg. 45, Rm. 2AS.13H
45 Center Dr. MSC 6200
Bethesda, MD 20892-6200
Forgacs, Gabor
forgacsg@missouri.edu
Department of Physics
Clarkson University
P.O. Box 5820
Potsdam, NY 13699-5820
Frangos, John A.
jfrangos@ucsd.edu
University of California
Dept. of Bioengineering
EBU I 6407
San Diego, CA 92093
Frey, Erwin
frey@cmt.harvard.edu
Department of Physics
Harvard University
Jefferson Laboratory
Cambridge, MA 02138
Fygenson, Deborah K
deborah@physics.ucsb.edu
UCSB
Department of Physics
4133 Broida Hall
Santa Barbara, CA 93106
Gardel, Margaret
gardel@physics.harvard.edu
Department of Physics
Harvard University
McKay Lab 5th Fl.
Cambridge, MA 02138
Glazier, James
jglazier@rameau.phys.nd.edu
Notre Dame
Nieuwland Science Hall 316
Notre Dame, Indiana 46556
Goldman, Robert D.
r-goldman@nwu.edu
Dept. of Cell Molec. Struct. Biology
Northwestern University Medical School 303 E Chicago Ave / Ward 11-145
Chicago, IL 60611
Goldman, Yale
goldmany@mail.med.upenn.edu
University of Pennsylvania
Pennsylvania Muscle Institute
D700 Richards Bldg.
3700 Hamilton Walk
Philadelphia, PA 19104-6083
Grodzinsky, Alan
alg@mit.edu
MIT 38-377
Division of Bioengineering & Environment
Cambridge, MA 02139
Hammer, Dan Department of Chemical Engineering
University of Pennsylvania
120 HAYDEN/6316
220 South 33rd Street
Philadelphia, PA 19104-6393
Hasenstein, Karl
hasenstein@usl.edu
Univ. of Louisiana
Department of Biology
Lafayette, LA 70508
Heidemann, Steve
heideman@msu.edu
Michigan State University
Department of Physiology
108 Giltner Hall
East Lansing, MI 48824-1101
Heiney, Paul
heiney@dept.physics.upenn.edu
Dept. of Physics & AstronomyUniv. of Pennsylvania
2N24 David Rittenhouse Laboratory
209 South 33rd Street
Philadelphia, PA 19104-6396
Hu, Yufang
yufang@engineering.ucsb.edu
Chemical Engineering Dept
UCSB
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-5080
Humphrey, Joseph (Pepe)
jah5nn@virginia.edu
Department of Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering
School of Engineering and Applied Science
University of Virginia
122 Engineer's Way
P.O. Box 400746
Charlottesville, VA 22904-4746
Hunt, Alan
ajhunt@umich.edu
Department of Biomedical Engineering
300 North Ingalls Building Room 962
University of Michigan,
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-2007
Ingber, Don
ingber@a1.tch.harvard.edu
Harvard Medical School
Children's Hospital
300 Longwood Ave
Surgery/Pathology Enders 1007
Boston, MA 02115
Islam, Mohammad F.
islam@dept.physics.upenn.edu
University of Pennsylvania
Department of Physics & Astronomy
209 S. 33rd Street
David Rittenhouse Lab
Philadelphia, PA 19104
Iwasa, Kuni H.
iwasa@nih.gov
9 Center Dr MSC 0922
NIH Bldg. 9, Rm. 1E120
Bethesda, MD 20892-0922
Janmey, Paul
janmey@mail.med.upenn.edu
Dept. of Physiology
University of Pennsylvania
1010 Vagelos/6383
3340 SMITH WK
Philadelphia, PA 19104-6383
Kamm, Roger
rdkamm@mit.edu
MIT 3-260
Division of Bioengineering & Environment
Cambridge, MA 02139
Kas, Josef Physics Department
Campus Mail Code: C1600
University of Texas
Austin, TX 78712
Keller, Raymond
rek3k@virginia.edu
Department of Biology
Gilmer Hall
University of Virginia
Charlottesville, VA 22903
Knecht, Dave Department of Molecular/Cell Biology
University of Connecticut
U-125
Storrs CT 06269-0001
Ko, Kevin
kevin_ko@hotmail.com
University of Toronto
MRC Group in Periodontal Physiology
Rm. 243, Fitzgerald Building
150 College St.
Toronto, Ont.
CANADA M5S 3E2
Kolomeisky, Anatoly B.
abk7@glue.umd.edu
University of Maryland
Kuo, Scot C.
skuo@bme.jhu.edu
Biomedical Engineering
School of Medicine
Johns Hopkins University
Rm. 724 Ross Research Building
720 Rutland Avenue
Baltimore, MD 21205
Lal, Jyotsana
jlal@anl.gov
Argonne National Labs.
PNS 360 C-245
9700 S. Cass Avenue
Argonne, IL 60439
Lee, James Chak-Man University of Pennsylvania
3500 Powelton Ave.
A112
Philadelphia, PA 19104
Lee, Juliet
jlee@uconnvm.uconn.edu
Department of Molecular and Cell Biology
University of Connecticut
75 N. Eagleville Rd.
U-125, Room 311
Storrs, CT 06269-3125
Levin, Stephen
smlevin@biotensegrity.com
Potomac Back Center
100 East Street SE
Vienna, VA 22180
Lin, Keng-hui
khlin@student.physics.upenn.edu
olddept.physics.upenn.edu/~khlin
Dept. of Physics
University of Pennsylvania
209 S. 33rd Street
Philadelphia, PA 19104
Lindemann, Charles
lindeman@oakland.edu
Oakland University
Biological Sciences
330 Dodge Hall
Rochester, MI 48309-4475
Lymn, Richard W.
LymnR@exchange.nih.gov
Director, Muscle Biology Branch
National Institute of Arthritis & Musculoskeletal & Skin Diseases
National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, Maryland 20892-2350
MacKintosh, Frederick M.
fcm@umich.edu
Department of Physics
272 West Engineering
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1120
Mahadevan, L.
l_m@mit.edu
MIT 3-246
Dept. of Mechanical Engineering
Cambridge, MA 02139
Margulies, Susan
margulies@seas.upenn.edu
Univ. of Pennsylvania
Department of Bioengineering
105 Hayden Hall
3320 Smith Walk
Philadelphia, PA 19104-6392
McGrath, James Johns Hopkins
720 Rutland Ave
Ross 724
Baltimore, MD 21009
Meaney, David
dmeaney@seas.upenn.edu
Univ. of Pennsylvania
Department of Bioengineering
105E Hayden Hall
3320 Smith Walk
Philadelphia, PA 19104-6392
Mogilner, Alexis
aimogilner@ucdavis.edu
UC Davis
Department of Mathematics
682 Kerr Hall
Davis, CA 95616
Mosher, Deane
dfm1@medicine.wisc.edu
University of Wisconsin
Medical Sciences Center 4459
1300 University Ave
Madison, WI 53706
Newman, Stuart
newman@nymc.edu
Department of Cell Biology & Anatomy
Basic Sciences Building
New York Medical College
Valhalla, NY 10595
Nikolaides, Michael
nikolaid@deas.harvard.edu
Dept. of Physics
Harvard University
McKay Lab 5th Fl.
Cambridge, MA 02138
Oddou, Christian
oddou@univ-paris12.fr
University of Paris
Oster, George
goster@nature.Berkeley.edu
201 Wellman Hall
University of California
Berkeley CA 94720
Ou-Yang, H. Daniel
hdo0@lehigh.edu
Department of Physics, Lehigh University
16 Memorial Drive East
Bethlehem, PA 18015
Pao, Wen-Jung
wjpao@sas.upenn.edu
Department of Physics and Astronomy
University of Pennsylvania
DRL
209 South 33rd St.
Philadelphia, PA 19104
Photos, Peter J.
photos@seas.upenn.edu
University of Pennsylvania
220 S. 33rd St.
Dept of Chemical Engineering
Rm 311A Towne
Philadelphia, PA 19104-6393
Powell, Courtney Brown University/Miriam Hospital
Dept. of Pathology
164 Summit Ave.
Providence, RI 02906
Raphael, Robert M.
rraphael@bme.jhu.edu
Johns Hopkins University
Department of Biomedical Engineering
Traylor Bldg., Rm. 613
Johns Hopkins Univ. School Medicine
720 Rutland Ave.
Baltimore, MD 21205
Roy, Partha
roy@email.unc.edu
University of North Carolina
Sachs, Frederick
sachs@buffalo.edu
SUNY-Buffalo
124 Sherman Hall
Physiology and Biophysics
Buffalo, NY 14214
Schneider, Victor S.
vschneider@hq.nasa.gov
NASA
Life Sciences Division/ULA
NASA Headquarters
300 E Street, SW
Washington, DC 20546
Schulten, Klaus
kschulte@ks.uiuc.edu
University of Illinois Urbana/Champaign
Department of Physics
313 Loomis
MC 704
1110 West Green St,
Urbana, IL 61801
Shah, Jagesh V.
jvshah@ucsd.edu
University of California - San Diego
9500 Gilman Drive
CMM-E 3072, Mail Code 0660
San Diego, CA 92093-0660
Sheehan, Maureen
msheehan@seas.upenn.edu
University of Pennsylvania
Towne 311A
220 S. 33rd St.
Philadelphia, PA 19104
Sheetz, Michael
ms2001@columbia.edu
Duke University
388C Nanaline H Duke
Box 3709 Medical Center
Durham, NC 27710
Skalak, Tom
tcs4z@Virginia.EDU
University of Virginia
BME
PO Box 800759
Charlottesville, VA 22908-0759
Steinberg, Marcia
steinbem@csr.nih.gov
NIH
Center for Scientific Revie
6701 Rockledge Drive
Room 5140, MSC 7840,
Bethesda, MD 20892-7840
Suki, Bela
bsuki@bu.edu
Department of Biomedical Engineering
Boston University
44 Cummington Street
Boston, MA 02215
Sykes, Cecile
cecile.sykes@curie.fr
Institut Curie
Paris
Tang, Jay X.
jxtang@indiana.edu
Indiana University
Department of Physics
Swain West 165
727 East Third St.
Bloomington, IN 47405
Tranquillo, Robert T.
tranquil@tc.umn.edu
University of Minnesota
151 Amundson Hall
421 Washington Ave SE
Minneapolis, MN 55455
Urry, Dan
danurry@uab.edu
Bioelastics Res. Ltd.
2800 Milan Ct. Suite 386
Birmingham, AL 35211
Usami, Shunichi
usami@bioeng.ucsd.edu
Department of Bioengineering and The Whitaker Institute of Biomedical Engineering
University of California, San Diego
9500 Gilman Drive
La Jolla, CA 92093-0427
Valentine, Megan
mvalenti@deas.harvard.edu
Dept. of Physics
Harvard University
5th Fl. McKay Lab
Cambridge, MA 02138
Vandenburgh, Herman H.
Herman_Vandenburgh@brown.edu
Brown University/Miriam Hospital
Dept. of Pathology
164 Summit Ave.
Providence, RI 02906
Veldhuis, Jim
jveldhuis@uwaterloo.ca
University of Waterloo
Dept. of Civil Engineering
200 University Ave., West
Waterloo Ontario N2L 3G1
Canada
Wang, Hongyun
hongwang@cse.ucsc.edu
www.cse.ucsc.edu/~hongwang
Department of Applied Mathematics and Statistics
Jack Baskin School of Engineering
University of California
1156 High Street
Santa Cruz, CA 95064
Wang, Yu-Li
YuLi.Wang@umassmed.edu
UMass Medical School
55 Lake Avenue North
Worcester, MA 01655
Weiss, Paul S.
stm@psu.edu
stm1.chem.psu.edu
Penn State
Chemistry Department
0152 Davey Laboratory
University Park, PA 16802
Weitz, David A.
weitz@deas.harvard.edu
Dept. of Physics & Division of Engineering and Applied Sciences
Harvard University
Pierce Hall 231
29 Oxford St.
Cambridge, MA 02138
Wendling, Sylvie
wendling@univ-paris12.fr
Universités Paris 12 - Paris 7
CNRS ESA 7052
Centre Multidisciplinaire de Créteil
Faculté des Sciences et Technologie
LMP - Laboratoire de Mécanique Physique 61, avenue du Général de Gaulle
94010 Créteil Cedex
France
Wong, Joyce
jywong@bu.edu
Boston University
ENG Biomedical Engineering
44 Cummington Street
Boston, MA 02215
Zabow, Gary
gary@atom.harvard.edu
atom.harvard.edu
Harvard University
Physics Department
Harvard University, Physics Dept.
17a Oxford Street
Cambridge, MA 02138
Zhang, Fan
fanzhang@student.physics.upenn.edu
University of Pennsylvania
209 south 33rd st.
Dept of Physics
Philadelphila, PA, 19104





 

DMR Home | nsf.gov
| About NSF | Funding | Publications | News & Media | Search | Site Map | Help
NSF Celebrating 50 Years The National Science Foundation
4201 Wilson Boulevard, Arlington, Virginia 22230, USA
Tel: 703-292-5111, FIRS: 800-877-8339 | TDD: 703-292-5090
Contact NSF
Customize