text-only page produced automatically by LIFT Text Transcoder Skip all navigation and go to page contentSkip top navigation and go to directorate navigationSkip top navigation and go to page navigation
National Science Board
Media Contact
dividing line
dividing line
Press Releases
dividing line
Media Advisories
dividing line
dividing line
NSB Staff
dividing line
Contact NSB
dividing line
NSB Site Map
dividing line
Go to NSF  Go to USA.gov

Press Release 05-023
President Names Laureates of the 2003 National Medal of Science and National Medal of Technology

National Medal of Science

National Medal of Science
Credit and Larger Version

February 15, 2005

President George W. Bush today named recipients of the 2003 National Medal of Science or National Medal of Technology, the nation's highest honors for science and technology. Honorees will receive the medals at a White House ceremony on March 14, 2005.

The National Medal of Science honors individuals in a variety of fields for pioneering scientific research that has led to a better understanding of the world around us, as well as to innovations and technologies that give the United States its global economic edge. The National Science Foundation administers the award, established by Congress in 1959. For more information about the National Medal of Science visit www.nsf.gov/nsb/awards/nms/medal.htm.

The National Medal of Technology recognizes men and women who embody the spirit of American innovation and have advanced the nation's global competitiveness. Their groundbreaking contributions commercialize technologies, create jobs, improve productivity and stimulate the nation's growth and development. This award, established by Congress in 1980, is administered by the Department of Commerce. For more information about the National Medal of Technology visit www.technology.gov/medal.

The 2003 National Medal of Science Laureates are:

Behavioral or Social Sciences

  • R. Duncan Luce, University of California, Irvine, Irvine, Calif.

Biological Sciences

  • J. Michael Bishop, University of California, San Francisco, San Francisco, Calif.
  • Solomon H. Snyder, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, Baltimore, Md.
  • Charles Yanofsky, Stanford University, Palo Alto, Calif.


  • John M. Prausnitz, University of California, Berkeley, Berkeley, Calif.


  • Carl R. De Boor, University of Wisconsin, Madison, Madison, Wis.

Physical Sciences

  • G. Brent Dalrymple, Oregon State University, Corvallis, Ore.
  • Riccardo Giacconi, The Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, Md.

The 2003 National Medal of Technology Laureates are:

  • Jan D. Achenbach, Northwestern University, Evanston, Ill.
  • Watts S. Humphrey, Software Engineering Institute, Pittsburgh, Pa.
  • Robert M. Metcalfe, Polaris Venture Partners, Waltham, Mass.
  • Team of: Rodney D. Bagley, retired – Corning Incorporated, Corning, N.Y., Irwin Lachman, retired – Corning Incorporated, Corning, N.Y., Ronald M. Lewis, former employee - Corning Incorporated, Corning, N.Y.
  • UOP LLC, Des Plaines, Ill.
  • Wisconsin Alumni Research Foundation, Madison, Wis.


Media Contacts
William C. Noxon, NSF, (703) 292-7750, wnoxon@nsf.gov

The National Science Foundation (NSF) is an independent federal agency that supports fundamental research and education across all fields of science and engineering. In fiscal year (FY) 2014, its budget is $7.2 billion. NSF funds reach all 50 states through grants to nearly 2,000 colleges, universities and other institutions. Each year, NSF receives about 50,000 competitive requests for funding, and makes about 11,500 new funding awards. NSF also awards about $593 million in professional and service contracts yearly.

 Get NSB News Updates by Email 

Useful NSB Web Sites:
Home Page: http://www.nsf.gov/nsb/
Highlights: http://www.nsf.gov/nsb/news/highlights.jsp
Press Releases: http://www.nsf.gov/nsb/news/press_release.jsp
Media Advisories: http://www.nsf.gov/nsb/news/media_advisories.jsp
Interviews: http://www.nsf.gov/nsb/news/interviews.jsp
Media Contact: http://www.nsf.gov/nsb/staff/staff_bio.jsp?lan=lzgorski
Topics of Interest: http://www.nsf.gov/nsb/topics/




For more information about file formats used on the NSF site, please see the Plug-ins and Viewers page.

Print this page NSF_NSB Twitter Follow Button Back to Top of page
  NSB Home | Web Policies & Important Links | Privacy | FOIA | Help | Contact NSB | Contact NSB Webmaster | NSB Site Map  
National Science Board
The National Science Board, 4201 Wilson Boulevard, Arlington, Virginia 22230, USA
Tel: (703) 292-7000, FIRS: (800) 877-8339 | TDD: (800) 281-8749
Last Updated:
January 23, 2009
Text Only

\ Last Updated: Apr 30, 2009