Preparing Our Children Banner

The National Science Board

he National Science Board (NSB) consists of 24 members plus the Director of the National Science Foundation (NSF). Appointed by the President, the Board serves as the governing body for NSF and provides advice to the President and the Congress on matters of national science policy.


Eamon M. Kelly, NSB Chairman; President Emeritus and Professor, Payson Center for International Development and Technology Transfer, Tulane University

Diana S. Natalicio, NSB Vice Chairman; President, The University ofTexas at El Paso

John A. Armstrong; IBM Vice President for Science & Technology (Retired)

Pamela A. Ferguson; Professor of Mathematics, Grinnell College

Mary K. Gaillard; Professor of Physics, University of California-Berkeley

Sanford D. Greenberg; Chairman and CEO, TEI Industries, Inc.

M. R. C. Greenwood; Chancellor, University ofCalifornia-Santa Cruz

Stanley V. Jaskolski; Vice President, Eaton Corporation

Anita K. Jones; University Professor, Department of Computer Science, University of Virginia

George M. Langford; Professor, Department of Biological Science, Dartmouth College

Jane Lubchenco; Wayne and Gladys Valley Professor of Marine Biology, Oregon State University

Eve L. Menger; Director, Characterization Science & Services (Retired), Corning Inc.

Joseph A. Miller Jr.; Senior Vice President for R&D & Chief Technology Officer, E.I. du Pont de Nemours & Co.

Claudia I. Mitchell-Kernan; Vice Chancellor, Academic Affairs and Dean, University of California-Los Angeles

Robert C. Richardson; Vice Provost for Research and Professor of Physics, Cornell University

Vera C. Rubin; Staff Member, Department of Terrestrial Magnetism, Carnegie Institution of Washington

Maxine Savitz; General Manager, AlliedSignal Inc. Ceramic Components

Luis Sequeira; J.C. Walker Professor Emeritus, Departments of Bacteriology and Plant Pathology, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Robert M. Solow; Institute Professor Emeritus, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Bob H. Suzuki; President, California State Polytechnic University-Pomona

Richard A. Tapia; Professor, Department of Computational and Applied Mathematics, Rice University

Chang-Lin Tien; NEC Distinguished Professor of Engineering, Department of Mechanical Engineering, University of California-Berkeley

Warren M. Washington; Senior Scientist and Head, Climate Change Section, National Center for Atmospheric Research

John A. White Jr.; Chancellor, University ofArkansas - Fayetteville


Rita R. Colwell; Director, National Science Foundation

Marta Cehelsky; Executive Officer, National Science Board

About the National Science Board Conclusions How Research Can Better Inform Practice Building a Seamless Education System, K-16 Content Standards for All Schools Student Achievement as a Shared Responsibility Executive Summary Contents