Email Print Share

Hispanic Heritage


Hispanic Heritage Month begins on September 15 because this day marks the anniversary of independence for five Hispanic countries - Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, and Nicaragua. Other Hispanic American Countries of Origin are Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Mexico, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Puerto Rico and Spain. In addition, on September 16, 1810, Mexico proclaimed independence from Spain on September 16, 1810, but acquired their independence in 1821.