Email Print Share

Media Advisory 11-007

The Year of the Higgs? A Live Webcast From NSF

Photo of the Compact Muon Solenoid detector at the European laboratory CERN.

The Compact Muon Solenoid detector at the European laboratory CERN.

February 11, 2011

This material is available primarily for archival purposes. Telephone numbers or other contact information may be out of date; please see current contact information at media contacts.

The Large Hadron Collider at CERN in Geneva, Switzerland will start up again around February 21, 2011. Prior to startup, we will talk to physicists from two of the experiments, CMS and ATLAS, to hear about the search for the Higgs boson and what to expect in 2011.

During this webcast from the National Science Foundation, Gustaaf Brooijmans of Columbia University and the US ATLAS experiment, and Aaron Dominguez of the University of Nebraska and US CMS experiment, will discuss the experiments and their roles in them.

Who:Gustaaf Brooijmans of US ATLAS (Columbia University), and Aaron Dominguez of US CMS (University of Nebraska)

What:Live webcast to discuss 2011 and beyond for the ATLAS and CMS experiments, and the restart of the Large Hadron Collider, which could occur on Feb. 21
When:Wednesday, Feb. 16, 2011 at 12:00 p.m. ET (18:00 CET)

Where:Media are invited to participate in the webcast by phone or online on the Science360 website

ATLAS stands for A Toroidal LHC Apparatus and CMS stands for Compact Muon Solenoid. Both experiments, located opposite one another on the LHC ring, are designed to search for the Higgs boson, which could help explain what causes the fundamental particles to have different masses. They were engineered to complement each other and to provide corroboration of findings.

To register for the event and obtain the user name and password for the webcast, journalists can contact NSF media officer Lisa Van Pay at or (703) 292-8796. Username and password are required for access. Questions before and during the webcast can be directed to

* U.S. participation in the Large Hadron Collider project is supported by the Department of Energy's Office of Science and the National Science Foundation.

* CERN, the European Organization for Nuclear Research, is the world's leading laboratory for particle physics. It has its headquarters in Geneva. At present, its Member States are Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom. India, Israel, Japan, the Russian Federation, the United States of America, Turkey, the European Commission and UNESCO have Observer status.


Media Contacts
Lisa Van Pay, NSF, (703) 292-8796, email:
Kathryn Grim, US LHC, +41 22 767 0988, email:

Program Contacts
Moishe Pripstein, NSF, (703) 292-7376, email:

The U.S. National Science Foundation propels the nation forward by advancing fundamental research in all fields of science and engineering. NSF supports research and people by providing facilities, instruments and funding to support their ingenuity and sustain the U.S. as a global leader in research and innovation. With a fiscal year 2022 budget of $8.8 billion, NSF funds reach all 50 states through grants to nearly 2,000 colleges, universities and institutions. Each year, NSF receives more than 40,000 competitive proposals and makes about 11,000 new awards. Those awards include support for cooperative research with industry, Arctic and Antarctic research and operations, and U.S. participation in international scientific efforts.

mail icon Get News Updates by Email 

Connect with us online
NSF website:
NSF News:
For News Media:
Awards database:

Follow us on social