Advisory Committee for Polar Programs (AC-OPP) April 12-13, 2023 Virtual Meeting

(all times listed in EST)

Wednesday, April 12, 2023 – Only AC-OPP

Time	Topic	Lead Discussant
9:30am – 10:00am	Tech Checks and virtual coffee	
10:00am – 10:20am	Welcome and Introductions, and Conflict of Interest Review	Meredith Nettles, Chair AC-OPP Jim Ulvestad, Director OPP Vladimir Papitashvili, OPP
10:20am – 11:20am	Upcoming Field Seasons and COVID-19	Jennifer Mercer, OPP Stephanie Short, OPP Mike Jackson, OPP Philip Bart, AC-OPP
11:20am – 11:30am	Break	
11:30am – 12:00pm	Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Discussion	Jim Ulvestad, Director OPP Ryan Emanuel, AC-OPP
12:00pm – 12:30pm	Lunch	
12:30pm – 1:00pm	ARV Updates	Tim McGovern, OPP Mike Prince, OPP Amy Leventer, ARV-SASC
1:00pm- 1:45pm	South Pole Prioritization	Fleming Crim, SCAC Chair Steve Iselin, AC-OPP
1:45pm – 2:15pm	Physical Qualifications in Polar Programs	Jim Ulvestad, Director OPP Jon Fentress, OPP Allyson Hindle, AC-OPP
2:15pm – 2:30pm	Break	
2:30pm – 3:00pm	Policy and International Engagement Update	Jennifer Mercer, OPP Polly Penhale, OPP Vera Kuklina, AC-OPP
3:00pm – 3:30pm	AC-OPP Merger with AC-GEO Discussion	Meredith Nettles, Chair AC-OPP Jim Ulvestad, Director OPP
3:30pm – 3:45pm	Wrap-up	Meredith Nettles, Chair AC-OPP Jim Ulvestad, Director OPP

Advisory Committee for Polar Programs (AC-OPP) April 12-13, 2023 In Person and Online

Thursday, April 13, 2023 – Joint AC-OPP and AC-GEO

Time	Topic	Lead Discussant
9:30am – 10:00am	Tech Checks and virtual coffee	
10:00am – 10:30am	Welcome	Kaatje Kraft, Chair AC-GEO; Meredith Nettles, Chair AC-OPP
10:30am – 11:45am	Geoscience Directorate Updates	Alexandra Isern, Assistant Director GEO
11:45am – 12:15pm	Discussion of Pending AC Merger and Future Directions	Kaatje Kraft, Chair AC-GEO Meredith Nettles, Chair AC-OPP
12:15pm – 1:00pm	Lunch	
1:00pm – 2:00pm	NSF in the Federal Landscape	Amanda Greenwell, NSF Office of Legislative and Public Affairs
2:00pm – 2:30pm	Preparation for Meeting with NSF Leadership	Kaatje Kraft, Chair AC-GEO Meredith Nettles, Chair AC-OPP
2:30pm – 3:00pm	Briefing with Office of the Director	Sethuraman Panchanathan, NSF Director Karen Marrongelle, NSF COO
3:00pm – 3:15pm	Break	
3:15pm – 4:15pm	Sexual Assault/Harassment Prevention and Response Update	Rhonda Davis, OECR Sarah Williams, OECR Meredith Nettles, Chair AC-OPP Stephanie Short, OPP
4:15pm – 4:30pm	Wrap-up	Meredith Nettles, Chair AC-OPP Kaatje Kraft, Chair AC-GEO Alexandra Isern, Assistant Director GEO Jim Ulvestad, Director OPP