Email Print Share

NSF Atmospheric and Geospace Sciences Updates

Return to AGS Update Homepage

AGS Staff Updates

May 2, 2017

The Division of Atmospheric and Geospace Sciences would like to take a moment to tell you about some changes to our team.

We are pleased to welcome Mike Wiltberger as our new Program Director for Magnetospheric Physics.  Mike comes to NSF on a temporary assignment from The National Center for Atmospheric Research High Altitude Observatory, where he has worked as a senior research scientist and Section Head. His main area of research is modeling the magnetosphere and its interaction with the solar wind and coupled thermosphere-ionosphere system. During his career, Mike has served in many important community functions, including as chair of the Geospace Environment Modeling (GEM) Steering Committee, Vice Chair of the AMS Science and Technology Committee on Space Weather, and Vice Chair of the Solar Wind-Magnetosphere Interactions Panel of the 2010 NRC Decadal Survey for Solar and Space Physics. Mike can be contacted at

Welcome also to Irfan Azeem, our new Program Director for Space Weather Research, also on a temporary assignment. Irfan joins us from Atmospheric and Space Technology Research Associates (ASTRA) in Boulder Colorado, where he has been employed as a Staff Scientist and Chief Engineer.  Irfan’s expertise is in Aeronomy, ionospheric physics, and space weather.  Prior to joining ASTRA he was an Associate Professor of Engineering Physics at Embry-Riddle in Daytona. In recent years, he has been focused on studies of ionosphere-mesosphere-stratosphere structure and dynamics, ionospheric disturbances, and sudden stratospheric warming, using novel measurements including the GPS-based total electron content (TEC). Irfan’s email address is

We are sad to see the departures of Dubey Manvendra (Program Director, Atmospheric Chemistry), who has returned to Los Alamos National Laboratory and Janet Kozyra (Program Director, Magnetosphere) who now works in the Heliophysics Division at NASA. Therese Moretto Jorgensen, the Head of the Geospace Section left the Division at the end of April to pursue a new career at the University of Bergen, and she will be greatly missed. Sarah Ruth will serve as Interim Geospace Section Head until a new Section Head is appointed.

We wish Dubey, Janet and Therese all the best in their new ventures.

Click on Image to Link to Powerpoint Version of AGS Organization Chart (May 2017)


[NSF AGS Organizational Chart, Oct 2016]


Return to AGS Update Homepage