Email Print Share

Paleo Perspectives on Climate Change  (P2C2)


CONTACTS
Name Email Phone Room
David  J. Verardo dverardo@nsf.gov (703) 292-8527   
Marguerite  Toscano mtoscano@nsf.gov 703-292-8550   
Jonathan  G. Wynn jwynn@nsf.gov (703) 292-4725   
Frank  . Rack frack@nsf.gov (703) 292-2684   
Candace  O. Major cmajor@nsf.gov (703) 292-7597   
Daniel  C. McCorkle dmccorkl@nsf.gov (703) 292-4543   
Soumaya  Belmecheri sbelmech@nsf.gov (703) 292-8527   
Paul  M. Cutler pcutler@nsf.gov (703) 292-4961   


PROGRAM GUIDELINES

Solicitation  17-582

Important Information for Proposers

A revised version of the NSF Proposal & Award Policies & Procedures Guide (PAPPG) (NSF 19-1), is effective for proposals submitted, or due, on or after February 25, 2019. Please be advised that, depending on the specified due date, the guidelines contained in NSF 19-1 may apply to proposals submitted in response to this funding opportunity.


DUE DATES

Full Proposal Deadline Date

    October 21, 2019

    October 20, Annually Thereafter

        10/20/2017


SYNOPSIS

The goal of research funded under the interdisciplinary P2C2 solicitation is to utilize key geological, chemical, atmospheric (gas in ice cores), and biological records of climate system variability to provide insights into the mechanisms and rate of change that characterized Earth's past climate variability, the sensitivity of Earth's climate system to changes in forcing, and the response of key components of the Earth system to these changes. 

Important scientific objectives of P2C2 are to: 1) provide comprehensive paleoclimate data sets that can serve as model test data sets analogous to instrumental observations; and 2) enable transformative syntheses of paleoclimate data and modeling outcomes to understand the response of the longer-term and higher magnitude variability of the climate system that is observed in the geological and cryospheric records. 


News