Division of Physics: Investigator-Initiated Research Projects  (PHY)


CONTACTS
Name Email Phone Room
Krastan  B. Blagoev kblagoev@nsf.gov (703) 292-4666   
Mark  Coles mcoles@nsf.gov (703) 292-4432   
Alex  Cronin acronin@nsf.gov (703) 292-5302   
Keith  R. Dienes kdienes@nsf.gov (703) 292-5314   
Robert  Forrey rforrey@nsf.gov (703) 292-5199   
Edmundo  J. Garcia-Solis ejgarcia@nsf.gov (703) 292-4493   
Julio  R. Gea-Banacloche jgeabana@nsf.gov (703) 292-7936   
John  Gillaspy jgillasp@nsf.gov (703) 292-7173   
Saul  Gonzalez Martirena sgonzale@nsf.gov (703) 292-2093   
Kevin  Jones kejones@nsf.gov (703) 292-7732   
Vyacheslav (Slava)  Lukin vlukin@nsf.gov (703) 292-7382   
Pedro  Marronetti pmarrone@nsf.gov (703) 292-7372   
Kathleen  McCloud kmccloud@nsf.gov (703) 292-8236   
Bogdan  Mihaila bmihaila@nsf.gov (703) 292-8235   
Allena  K. Opper aopper@nsf.gov (703) 292-8958   
James  T. Shank jshank@nsf.gov (703) 292-4516   
Nigel  A. Sharp nsharp@nsf.gov (703) 292-4905   
James  H. Thomas jhthomas@nsf.gov (703) 292-2911   
James  Whitmore jwhitmor@nsf.gov (703) 292-8908   


PROGRAM GUIDELINES

Solicitation  20-580

Important Information for Proposers

A revised version of the NSF Proposal & Award Policies & Procedures Guide (PAPPG) (NSF 20-1), is effective for proposals submitted, or due, on or after June 1, 2020. Please be advised that, depending on the specified due date, the guidelines contained in NSF 20-1 may apply to proposals submitted in response to this funding opportunity.


DUE DATES

Full Proposal Deadline Date

    December 1, 2020

    First Tuesday in December, Annually Thereafter

        Nuclear Physics - Theory and Experiment; Elementary Particle Physics - Experiment; Particle Astrophysics - Experiment

    December 8, 2020

    Second Tuesday in December, Annually Thereafter

        Elementary Particle Physics - Theory; Particle Astrophysics and Cosmology – Theory; Quantum Information Science

    October 18, 2021

    Third Monday in October, Annually Thereafter

        Physics of Living Systems

    November 15, 2021

    Third Monday in November, Annually Thereafter

        Plasma Physics

    November 24, 2021

    Fourth Wednesday in November, Annually Thereafter

        AMO - Theory and Experiment; Gravitational Physics - Theory and Experiment; LIGO Research Support; Integrative Activities in Physics


SYNOPSIS

The Division of Physics (PHY) supports physics research and the preparation of future scientists in the nation’s colleges and universities across a broad range of physics disciplines that span scales of space and time from the largest to the smallest and the oldest to the youngest.  The Division is comprised of disciplinary programs covering experimental and theoretical research in the following major subfields of physics: Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics; Elementary Particle Physics; Gravitational Physics; Integrative Activities in Physics; Nuclear Physics; Particle Astrophysics; Physics at the Information Frontier; Physics of Living Systems; Plasma Physics; and Quantum Information Science.

Additional Information

The Division of Physics strongly encourages single proposal submission for possible co-review rather than submission of multiple related proposals to several programs.

PIs considering submitting more than one proposal to this solicitation, or who already have an active PHY award, are encouraged to first consult with the relevant program officer(s) before preparing a new proposal. This does not apply to awards from or submissions to the MRI, REU, and/or center programs, or in cases of renewal proposals.

 

What Has Been Funded (Recent Awards Made Through This Program, with Abstracts)

Map of Recent Awards Made Through This Program

News