Skip to main content
Email Print Share

Critical Techniques, Technologies and Methodologies for Advancing Foundations and Applications of Big Data Sciences and Engineering  (BIGDATA)


CONTACTS
Name Email Phone Room
Chaitanya  Baru cbaru@nsf.gov (703) 292-4541   
Sylvia  Spengler sspengle@nsf.gov (703)292-8930   
Reed  S. Beaman rsbeaman@nsf.gov (703) 292-7163   
John  C. Cherniavsky jchernia@nsf.gov (703) 292-5136   
Almadena  Y. Chtchelkanova achtchel@nsf.gov (703) 292-8910   
David  Corman dcorman@nsf.gov (703) 292-8754   
James  C. French jfrench@nsf.gov (703) 292-8930   
Jun (Luke)  Huan jhuan@nsf.gov (703) 292-8930   
Nandini  Kannan nakannan@nsf.gov (703)292-8104   
Sara  Kiesler skiesler@nsf.gov (703) 292-8643   
Bogdan  Mihaila bmihaila@nsf.gov (703) 292-8235   
Rahul  T. Shah rshah@nsf.gov (703) 292-2709   
Ralph  Wachter rwachter@nsf.gov (703) 292-8950   
Chengshan  Xiao cxiao@nsf.gov (703) 292-4753   
Maria  Zemankova mzemanko@nsf.gov (703) 292-7348   
Aidong  Zhang azhang@nsf.gov (703) 292-5311   
Nan  Zhang nanzhang@nsf.gov (703) 292-8930   
General Correspondence email

For general correspondence, please reply to bigdata@nsf.gov.

PROGRAM GUIDELINES

Solicitation  17-534

Important Information for Proposers

A revised version of the NSF Proposal & Award Policies & Procedures Guide (PAPPG) (NSF 17-1), is effective for proposals submitted, or due, on or after January 30, 2017. Please be advised that, depending on the specified due date, the guidelines contained in NSF 17-1 may apply to proposals submitted in response to this funding opportunity.

SYNOPSIS

The BIGDATA program seeks novel approaches in computer science, statistics, computational science, and mathematics, along with innovative applications in domain science, including social and behavioral sciences, education, biology, the physical sciences, and engineering that lead towards the further development of the interdisciplinary field of data science.

The solicitation invites two categories of proposals:

  • Foundations (F): those developing or studying fundamental theories, techniques, methodologies, and technologies of broad applicability to big data problems, motivated by specific data challenges and requirements; and
  • Innovative Applications (IA): those engaged in translational activities that employ new big data techniques, methodologies, and technologies to address and solve problems in specific application domains. Projects in this category must be collaborative, involving researchers from domain disciplines and one or more methodological disciplines, e.g., computer science, statistics, mathematics, simulation and modeling, etc.

Proposals in both categories must include a clear description of the big data aspect(s) that have motivated the proposed approach(es), for example: the scalability of methods with increasing data volumes, rates, heterogeneity; or data quality and data bias; etc. Innovative Applications proposals must provide clear examples of the impacts of the big data techniques, technologies and/or methodologies on (a) specific domain application(s).

Proposals in all areas of sciences and engineering covered by participating NSF directorates and partnering agencies [the Office of Financial Research (OFR)], are welcome.

Before preparing a proposal in response to this BIGDATA solicitation, applicants are strongly urged to review other related programs and solicitations and contact the respective NSF program officers listed in them should those solicitations be more appropriate. In particular:

RELATED URLS
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQS) for NSF 12-499

1st BIGDATA Webinar (Presentation, Audio File and Transcript)

2nd BIGDATA Webinar - May 21, 2012 (Presentation, Audio File and Transcript)

THIS PROGRAM IS PART OF Additional Funding Opportunities for the CCF Community

What Has Been Funded (Recent Awards Made Through This Program, with Abstracts)

Map of Recent Awards Made Through This Program

News