Email Print Share

Astronomy and Astrophysics Advisory Committee

January 25, 2022 11:00 AM  to 
January 26, 2022 5:00 PM

Save the Date

The Astronomy and Astrophysics Advisory Committee is a federal advisory committee chartered under the Federal Advisory Committee Act, which resulted from one of the primary recommendations of the Presidential Committee on the Organization and Management of Research in Astronomy and Astrophysics (COMRAA).


The purpose of this meeting is to provide advice and recommendations to the National Science Foundation (NSF), the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) and the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) on issues within the field of astronomy and astrophysics that are of mutual interest and concern to the agencies. The Committee will hear presentations of current programming by representatives from NSF, NASA, DOE and other agencies relevant to astronomy and astrophysics; to discuss current and potential areas of cooperation between the agencies; and to formulate recommendations for continued and new areas of cooperation and mechanisms for achieving them.


The meeting will be held over Zoom. Register in advance for this meeting:

After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the meeting.

Online registration for this event has been canceled.

Meeting Type
Advisory Committee Meeting

Martin D. Still, (703) 292-4290, email:
       Preferred Contact Method: Email
Allison V. Farrow, (703) 292-7288, email:
       Preferred Contact Method: Email
Renee Adwoa Akyem Adonteng, (703) 292-4712, email:
       Preferred Contact Method: Email

Related Agencies
Department of Energy
National Aeronautics and Space Administration

NSF Related Organizations
Division of Astronomical Sciences

Core Attachments

Welcome and Introductions; Logistics, Conflicts - Martin Still
DOE/HEP Programs and Budget Update - Kathy Turner
NASA/APD Programs and Budget Update - Paul Hertz
Astro2020 Decadal Report, Fiona Harrison and Rob Kennicutt
NSF AST Programs and Budget Update - Debra Fischer
Update from NSF Physics Division - Denise Caldwell
James Webb Space Telescope Update - Eric Smith
NASA Planetary Defense Update - Lindley Johnson