Skip to main content
Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Biological Sciences

APPLICATIONS: Students must contact the individual site or program to apply. NSF does not have application materials and does not select student participants.

ELIGIBILITY: Individual sites may have additional eligibility requirements (e.g., number of undergraduate years completed). Undergraduate student participants supported with NSF funds must be citizens or permanent residents of the United States or its possessions. High school graduates who have not yet enrolled, and students who have already received their bachelor's degrees, are not eligible.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION: Click on the Title of the Site in the "Site Information" column to go to the homepage (if available) for that Site. Sites are ordered alphabetically by host institution. All Sites provide stipends, housing and meals, in addition to travel to and from the Site. This listing will change as new REU Site awards are made. Sites are added or deleted as decisions are made on awards, and the list is updated periodically. Clicking on a highlighted site title should direct you to the web page for more information on that program. A link is also provided to allow you to view the geographic distribution of the programs (this link will take you to the Google Maps website). http://maps.google.com/maps/ms?msa=0&msid=201385854811463249384.0004a7f203de1eb115e18&hl=en&ie=UTF8&ll=38.788345,-96.811523&spn=26.927165,74.311523&z=5

REU Alumni: Please note the following opportunities: (1) Graduate Research Fellowship (GRF: http://www.nsfgrfp.org); (2) Graduate student summer experience abroad: East Asia Pacific Summer Institute Program (EAPSI: http://nsfsi.org/); and (3) Travel funds to present your REU project (http://www.bioreu.org).

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.bio@nsf.gov.


Search Again

147 items found, displaying 61 to 80.[First/Prev] 2 3 4 5 6 [Next/Last]
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
Champaign, Illinois
Primary: C. Britt Carlson
(217) 353-2132
ccarlson@parkland.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, plasticity, genomics, genetics, cell biology
Comments: The primary institution of this project is University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Abstract of Award
Malibu, California
Primary: Jay Brewster
(310) 506-4321
Jay.Brewster@pepperdine.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: ecology, cell biology, molecular biology, botany, genetics, cellular stress
Comments: Co-PI is co-PI (Dr. Rodney L. Honeycutt at rodney.honeycutt@pepperdine.edu
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Plymouth, New Hampshire
Primary: Michele Pruyn
(603) 535-3320
mlpruyn@plymouth.edu
Secondary: Timothy Fahey
(607) 255-5470
tjf5@cornell.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Ecosystems
Comments: For more information, please contact the program coordinator, Geoff Wilson (gwilson@hbresearchfoundation.com)
Abstract of Award
Princeton University
REU Site: Molecular Biophysics
Molecular Biology
Princeton, New Jersey
Primary: Jannette Carey
609-258-1631
jcarey@princeton.edu
Secondary: Istvan Pelczer
609-258-2342
ipelczer@princeton.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Molecular Biology, international, Czech Republic, biophysics
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry, International Science and Engineering
West Lafayette, Indiana
Primary: James Forney
(765) 494-1632
forney@purdue.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biology, enzyme mechanisms, cell cycle, chromatin, sumoylation, proteomics, protein biochemistry, metabolic pathways
Comments: Questions may be directed to Jim Forney (forney@purdue.edu) or Sherry Pogranichniy (spograni@purdue.edu)
Abstract of Award
REU Site: Brooklyn Urban Ecology and Environment Program (BUEE)
REU Site: Brooklyn Urban Ecology and Environment Program (BUEE)
Biology
Brooklyn, New York
Primary: Tony Wilson
(718) 951-5000
twilson@brooklyn.cuny.edu
Secondary: Brett Branco
(718) 951-5000
bbranco@brooklyn.cuny.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, urban ecology, environmental science, human-coupled natural systems, aquatic research
Abstract of Award
Houston, Texas
Primary: Jonathan Silberg
(713) 348-3849
joff@rice.edu
Secondary: George Bennett
(713) 348-4920
gbennett@rice.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, biomolecules, cell biology, ecology, evolution, physical biology, quantitatie biology, systems biology, synthetic biology
Comments: Kimberly M'Carver, kimberly@rice.edu; 713 348 6034
Abstract of Award
Gothic, Colorado
Primary: Ian Billick
970-349-7231
director@rmbl.org
Secondary: Jennifer Reithel
970 349 1288
sd@rmbl.org
Research Topics/Keywords: field research, ecology, evolutionary biology, ecological genomics
Comments: For questions about the program, contact Dr. Jennifer Reithel, sd@rmbl.org
Abstract of Award
Rutgers University - Camden
REU Site: Computational Biology Summer Research Experience at Rutgers
Center for Computational and Integrative Biology
Camden, New Jersey
Primary: Benedetto Piccoli
(856) 225-6356
piccoli@camden.rutgers.edu
Secondary: Joseph Martin
(856) 225-6165
joe.martin@rutgers.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biology, Biosciences, Computer Science, Computational Biology, Developmental Biology, Systems Biology, Ecosystem Studies, Plant Biology,
Comments: Karen Taylor: kdt41@camden.rutgers.edu
Abstract of Award
Camden, New Jersey
Primary: Heike Bucking
856.225.6590
bucking@camden.rutgers.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Ecology, botany, neuroscience, zoology, biochemistry, and analytical chemistry
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Biological Sciences
Birmingham, Alabama
Primary: Rita Fincher
(205) 726-2928
rmfinche@samford.edu
Secondary: Betsy Dobbins
(205) 726-2937
egdobbin@samford.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Ecology, Population biology, Botany, Geography, Plant chemistry, Molcular biology, Cell biology, Pathogenesis
Abstract of Award
Sanford Research in collaboration with Augustana College
REU Site in Cellular and Molecular Biology at Sanford Research and Augustana College
Children's Health Research Center/Department of Biology
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Primary: David Pearce
605-312-6073
David.Pearce@sanfordhealth.org
Secondary: Seasson Vitiello
605-274-5525
Seasson.Vitiello@augie.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: cell biology, molecular biology, protein, DNA, RNA, bioinformatics, genomics, biochemistry, genetics, chemistry, cell signaling, cell stress, model systems
Comments: For specific questions or comments please email REU@sanfordhealth.org or call 605-312-6590.
Abstract of Award
San Francisco, California
Primary: Carmen Domingo
(415) 338-6995
cdomingo@sfsu.ed
Secondary: Sarah Cohen
(415) 338-3750
sarahcoh@sfsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: ecology, evolution, developmental biology
Comments: Ms. Barbara Ford, nsfreu@sfsu.edu
Abstract of Award
San Jose, California
Primary: Miri VanHoven
(408) 924-4845
miri.vanhoven@sjsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Genetics, Cell Biology, Microbiology, Physiology, Forensics
Abstract of Award
Edgewater, Maryland
Primary: John Parker
(443) 482-2221
parkerj@si.edu
Secondary: Anson Hines
(443) 482-2208
hinesa@si.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: climate change, biological invasions, biodiversity and ecosystem function, environmental education, biogeochemistry, Chesapeake Bay, global change ecology, forest ecology, marine ecology, estuarine ec
Comments: Fellowship Coordinator: Dan Gustafson, gustafsond@si.edu, 443-482-2217
Abstract of Award
Smithsonian Institution
REU Site: Natural History Research Experiences
National Museum of Natural History(NMNH)
Washington, DC, District Of Columbia
Primary: Virginia Power
(202) 633-1055
powerv@si.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: geoscience, planets, asteroids, mineralogy, petrology, volcanology, paleobiology, oceanography, environmental, evolution,biodiversity, taxonomy,genomics,anthropology,archaeology,ethnology,linguistics
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Biological Sciences, Earth Sciences
Panama City, Panama
Primary: W. Owen McMillan
507-212-8299
mcmillano@si.edu
Secondary: Ana K. Spalding
507-212-8281
spaldinga@si.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Tropical biodiversity, Biology, Ecology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Math, adaptation, resilience, ecosystem change
Abstract of Award
Texas A&M AgriLife Research / Texas A&M University
REU Site - Summer Undergraduate Research Program in Biochemistry
Biochemistry and Biophysics
College Station, Texas
Primary: Gary Kunkel
(979) 845-6257
g-kunkel@tamu.edu
Secondary: Mary Bryk
(979) 862-2294
bryk@tamu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biochemistry/molecular biology/genomics/proteomics/enzymology/structural biology/gene expression/membrane structure/developmental biology
Comments: coordinators are the PI and co-PI
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry
Wooster, Ohio
Primary: Amy Jo Stavnezer
(330) 263-2215
ajstavnezer@wooster.edu
Secondary: Jennifer R. Yates
(740) 368-3814
jryates@owu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, neuroscience, behavior, brain
Abstract of Award
The Ohio State University
REU Site: Research Opportunities in Molecular Biology at Ohio State University
Molecular Genetics; Chemistry and Biochemistry; Micribiology
Columbus, Ohio
Primary: Susan Cole
(614) 292-3276
cole.354@osu.edu
Secondary: Jane Jackman
(614) 247-8097
jackman.14@osu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, genetics, genomics, biochemistry, microbiology, developmental biology, model organisms, RNA biology, structural biology
Comments: emails to mgreu@osu.edu will reach the program administrator (Debbie Dotter)
Abstract of Award
147 items found, displaying 61 to 80.[First/Prev] 2 3 4 5 6 [Next/Last]

 

Back to Top of page