Skip to main content
Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Atmospheric and Geospace Sciences

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.ags@nsf.gov.


Search Again

Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
Arecibo, Puerto Rico
Primary: Dr. Hilda Colón
(787) 878-2612
reu-program@naic.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: astronomy, astrophysics, planetary science, instrumentation, atmospheric physics
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Atmospheric and Geospace Sciences
Brooklyn, New York
Primary: Dr. Reginald Blake
(718) 254-8582
rblake@citytech.cuny.edu
Secondary: Dr. Pamela Brown
(718) 260-5008
pbrown@citytech.cuny.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Meteorology, remote sensing, air quality, modeling, engineering, air-land and air-sea interactions, climate
Comments: Collaborative with NOAA-CREST Cooperative Remote Sensing Science and Technology Center (NOAA-CREST),
Abstract of Award
Coastal Carolina University
REU Site: Computing and Geoscience in the Coastal Carolina Region
College of Science, Department of Computing Sciences and Dept. of Coastal & Marine Systems Science
Conway, South Carolina
Primary: Dr. Sathish Kumar
(843) 349-2810
skurmar@coastal.edu
Secondary: Dr. Var Limpasuvan
(843) 349-2826
var@coastal.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: climate change,oceanography,atmospheric science, geology, computer science, Big Data Analytics, Data Science, GeoComputing
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Ocean Sciences
Fort Collins, Colorado
Primary: Melissa Burt
(970) 491-8706
mburt@atmos.colostate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: atmospheric science, atmospheric chemistry, air quality, severe storms, mesoscale meteorology, remote sensing, climate dynamics, climate modeling, atmospheric dynamics
Abstract of Award
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Primary: Dr. Henry Trae Winter
(617) 495-7400
hwinter@cfa.harvard.edu
Secondary: Dr. Kathy Reeves
(617) 496-7563
kreeves@cfa.harvard.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Solar Astronomy, space weather, heliosphere, astrophysics,instrumentation
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Atmospheric and Geospace Sciences, Astronomical Sciences
MIT Haystack Observatory
MIT Haystack Observatory
MIT Haystack Observatory
Westford, Massachusetts
Primary: Mary Reynolds
(781) 981-5410
mreynolds@haystack.mit.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Astrophysics, Solar and heliospheric science, Informatics
Comments: REU 2017 offers: • Hands-on research experience • Seminars • Activities • Housing • Stipend APPLICATION DEADLINE FEBRUARY 8, 2017 For further information, please contact reuhaystack@hayst
Cofunded: Atmospheric and Geospace Sciences, Department of Defense (DoD)
Arizona
Primary: Dr. Matthew Penn
(520) 318-8510
mpenn@nso.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Solar physics, solar-terrestrial physics, solar-stellar physics, instrumentation
Cofunded: Atmospheric and Geospace Sciences
Portland, Oregon
Primary: Linda George
(503) 725-3861
georgeL@pdx.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: atmosphere’s synoptic and planetary circulation, air quality, weather, climate
Abstract of Award
Berkeley, California
Primary: Laura Peticolas
(510) 642-3010
laura@ssl.berkeley.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Geophysics, space science, Earth science, atmospheric physics, planetary science, solar physics, electrical engineering, mechanical engineering, computer science, physics, math, chemistry, geology
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Atmospheric and Geospace Sciences, Astronomical Sciences
College Station, Texas
Primary: Don Conlee
(979) 862-4060
dconlee@tamu.edu
Secondary: Robert Korty
(979) 847-9090
korty@tamu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: air quality, climate change, meteorology, precipitation processes in the Gulf Coastal region.
Abstract of Award
College Station, Texas
Primary: Georgianne Moore
(979) 845-3765
gwmoore@tamu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: water, climate, ecohydrology, diversity, interdisciplinary, international
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Earth Sciences, Atmospheric and Geospace Sciences
Pennsylvania
Primary: Ray Najjar
(814) 863-1586
najjar@meteo.psu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: climate & atmospheric science,meteorology,oceanography,carbon cycle,modeling,paleoclimate,atmospheric chemistry,climate impacts,tropical meteorology,atmospheric dynamics,biogeochemistry
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Atmospheric and Geospace Sciences
University Corporation for Atmospheric Research
The SOARS Program - Enhancing and Expanding a Successful Model for Building Diversity in the Atmospheric and Related Sciences
National Center for Atmospheric Research
Boulder, Colorado
Primary: Rebecca Haacker
(303) 497-8623
rhaacker@UCAR.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Atmospheric Science, solar physics, computational methods
Comments: SOARS is not funded through the REU Site program, but encourages applications from members of underrepresented and disadvantaged groups
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Atmospheric and Geospace Sciences
University of Alabama in Huntsville
REU Site: Solar and Heliospheric Physics at UAH and MSFC
Physics
Huntsville, Alabama
Primary: Samaiyah Farid
(156) 824-6120
sif0053@uah.edu
Secondary: Amy Winebarger
(256) 961-7509
amy.r.winebarger@nasa.gov
Research Topics/Keywords: Solar Physics, Heliospheric Physics, satellites, modeling
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Atmospheric and Geospace Sciences, Astronomical Sciences
University of Colorado at Boulder
REU Site: Solar and Space Physics with the Boulder Solar Alliance
Lab for Atmospheric and Space Physics
Boulder, Colorado
Primary: Dr. Martin Snow
(303) 885-8689
snow@lasp.colorado.edu
Secondary: Dr. Daniel N Baker
(303) 492-4509
Daniel.Baker@lasp.colorado.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: solar physics, space physics, climate science, magnetosphere, heliosphere, upper atmosphere, Sun-Earth system, space weather
Comments: Participating institutions include NCAR High Altitude Observatory, NOAA Space Environment Center (both in Boulder, CO), and Center for Integrated Space Weather Modeling (Boston, MA)
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Astronomical Sciences
260 miles north of Ann Arbor, Michigan
Primary: Dr. David Karowe
(269) 387-5630
karowe@wmich.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Ecology & Atmospheric Sciences: Global Change, Botany, Zoology, Biogeochemistry, Chemistry, Physics, Meteorology
Comments: Interdisciplinary program focused on the ecological and atmospheric causes and consequences of global change
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Biological Sciences, Earth Sciences
University of Michigan Ann Arbor
REU Site: Program in Climate and Space Science Observation (PICASSO) at the University of Michigan
Climate and Space Sciences and Engineering
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Primary: Frank Marsik
(734) 763-5369
marsik@umich.edu
Secondary: Tonya Thompson
(734) 763-4611
tyb@umich.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Meteorology,Climate, Space Weather, Remote Sensing, Global Change, Biogeochemistry, Climate Modeling, Atmospheric Chemistry
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Astronomical Sciences, Atmospheric and Geospace Sciences
University of Oklahoma Norman Campus
REU Site: Real-World Research Experiences at the National Weather Center
Center for Analysis and Prediction of Storms
Norman, Oklahoma
Primary: Dr. Daphne S. LaDue
(405) 325-1898
dzaras@ou.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: severe storms, synoptic, mesoscale and storm-scale meteorology, numerical weather prediction, weather radar, atmospheric modeling,atmospheric technology and measurement systems,prediction, weather rad
Comments: The National Weather Center engages the Univ.of Oklahoma, NOAA and state organizations to work together to improve understanding of atmospheric events.
Abstract of Award
Florida
Primary: Jennifer Collins
(570) 594-1932
collinsjm@usf.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Weather,Climate,Society,Interdisciplinary,REU
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Social, Behavioral, and Economic Sciences
Washington State University
REU Site: Regional Atmospheric Chemistry: State-of-the-art Measurement and Modeling in the Pacific Northwest
Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering
Pullman, Washington
Primary: Dr. Shelley Pressley
(509) 335-5443
spressley@wsu.edu
Secondary: Dr. Brian Lamb
(509) 335-5702
blamb@wsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: atmospheric science, air quality, atmospheric chemistry, mobile laboratory facility, air quality measurements, air quality modeling, Pacific northwest, climate change, mobile atmospheric chemistry lab
Abstract of Award