The National Science Foundation (NSF) will be holding a workshop, "Science: Becoming the Messenger" on January 27, 2011, at the Oread Hotel on the campus of the University of Kansas in Lawrence.

We are extending an invitation to principal investigators (PI), early career researchers and engineers, graduate students, postdocs, public information officers (PIO), and communications staff who would like to learn to communicate effectively to a broad audience.

Today, across academia and the research community, there is a growing interest in science communication. Scientists are asking how they can share their knowledge and findings across an increasingly challenging information environment.

Seminars and training workshops are, accordingly, springing up to meet this need. But never before has there been a team like the one NSF has assembled to help members of the scientific community at all levels become more effective messengers.

Featuring three accomplished communicators and trainers—Emmy award winning television producer Joe Schreiber, former PBS executive Dan Agan, and bestselling science author Chris Mooney—the NSF workshop "Science: Becoming the Messenger" provides one-stop shopping for those seeking to reach a broader public about their work.

Over the course of this full day of training, participants will learn how to craft a message and deliver it to a variety of audiences. They will also have the opportunity to experience live interview training, to develop writing and new media skills, to hone their public presentations, and even to produce video.

For a specially selected group of researchers there will be a second day on January 28th. During this second day, they will refine their message further, train to talk to their colleagues, public audiences and the media. If you are interested in participating in the second day of the workshop and would like to be considered, please complete the questions on the registration form. If you are not interested or are a PIO or communications staff, simply type N/A in the box on the registration form.

There is no registration fee to attend but pre-registration is required. Please complete the registration form. This workshop is very popular and fills up quickly.

## The registration deadline is Friday, January 14, 2011.

Please select to complete the registration form:

Sincerely,

Jeff Nesbit
Director, Office of Legislative & Public Affairs
National Science Foundation

BIOS:

## **JOE SCHREIBER**

Joe Schreiber helped launch and produce NBC's George Michael Sports Machine. The program aired for 23 years, making it the longest running locally produced, nationally syndicated sports show in television history. The heart of the program was the human interest features, produced to appeal to a broad spectrum of viewers. As field producer, and later senior producer, Joe traveled the world, cultivating relationships in the fields of television, film, digital media, public relations, marketing, sports, and entertainment. He built a model for production that is based on trusted relationships and uncompromising production values; it was a way of life that set the industry standard and earned 11 Emmy Awards. In 2007 Joe launched Mattmar Productions, a company that has produced programming and supervised field production for CBS Sports, NBC Sports, ESPN, NFL Network and TNT Sports. Mattmar also empowers corporations, the public service sector and non-profits in new media, and garnered three 2010 Telly Awards for a high-end film commercial campaign and two documentaries. Mattmar's joint venture, 3 Penny Films produces documentary/reality programming for television and web platforms for major collegiate athletics.

## **DAN AGAN**

Dan Agan is president of Panthera Group LLC, a marketing communications firm specializing in architecting and implementing cogent, media-oriented marketing and communications programs that successfully inform, inspire, and influence mission-critical publics. He is a former network television programming and marketing executive, marketing officer for publicly-traded technology companies, broadcast journalist, television producer/director, and public relations consultant. He continues to produce and direct programs for television and the web.

Agan has served as the principal spokesperson for both non-profit and private sector companies, been interviewed countless times by the press, conducted dozens of press conferences, delivered public presentations for audiences large and small, and coached CEOs and senior executives on dealing effectively with the media. He has worked with a broad range of organizations, corporations and government agencies including PBS, AOL, AARP, Octel Communications, Discovery Communications, the National Science Foundation, Edge Technologies, Excalibur Technologies, the Metropolitan Opera Association (New York), Fleishman-Hillard Public Relations, and the Direct Marketing Association.

## **CHRIS MOONEY**

Chris Mooney is a bestselling science journalist and commentator and the author of three books, most recently *Unscientific America: How Scientific Illiteracy Threatens Our Future* (co-authored by <u>Sheril Kirshenbaum</u>). Chris is also a host of the <u>Point of Inquiry podcast</u>, was <u>recently seen on BBC 2</u> guest hosting a segment of "The Culture Show," and blogs for *Discover* magazine. In the past, he has been a visiting associate in the <u>Center for Collaborative History</u> at Princeton University, a <u>Knight Science Journalism Fellow at MIT</u>, and a <u>Templeton-Cambridge Fellow in Science and Religion</u>.

Mooney's work has been featured regularly by the national media, including appearances on <u>The Daily Show With Jon Stewart</u>, <u>The Colbert Report</u>, <u>MSNBC's "Morning Joe</u>," CSPAN's <u>Book TV</u>, and NPR's <u>Fresh Air With Terry Gross</u> and Science Friday (<u>here</u> and <u>here</u>), among many other television and radio programs. Among other accolades, in 2005 Chris was <u>named</u> one of *Wired* magazine's ten "sexiest geeks." His articles have appeared in numerous publications and were selected for *Best American Science and Nature Writing 2006* and *Best American Science Writing 2010*.