Budget and Performance
Skip to main content
Email Print Share

Workshop on the Science of Science Policy - Participants

November 3-4, 2008


Shannon Townsend

Senior Evaluation Officer

Planning and Performance Management

Strategy and Development Branch

National Research Council Canada

Susan Morris

Chief, Evaluation

Policy and International Relations

Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC)


Jiannan Wu

Tengfei Professor and Associate Dean

School of Public Policy and Administration

Xi’an Jiaotong University


Julia Pascual

Research Assistant

Science, Technology and Education

Delegation of the European Commission


Alain Billon

Inspecteur General de l’Administration

de l’Education Nationale et de la Recherche

Ministere de l’Education nationale

Ministere de l’Enseignement Superieur et de la Recherche


Pierre Glorieux

Directeur de la section des unités de recherche

Agence d’évaluation de la recherche et de l’enseignement supérieur (AERES)

Annaïg Le Guen

Unité: indicateurs, programmation et allocation des moyens



Jens-Peter Gaul, Director

Koordinierungsstelle EG der Wissenschaftsorganisationen (KoWi)

European Liaison Office of the German Research Organisations (KoWi)

Helene Schruff

Head of the Division for Institute Development and Evaluation

Max Planck Society - Headquarters


Giorgio Sirilli

Research Director

Institute of Socio-Economic Studies on Innovation and Research Policy

National Research Council, Rome


Yasukuni Okubo, Ph.D.*

Director for Technology Evaluation

Technology Evaluation and Research Division

Industrial Science and Technology Policy and Environment Bureau

Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry

Hiroshi Takahashi*

Director, Ph.D

Department of Strategic Planning and Management

Japan Science and Technology Agency

Naoki Murata*

Executive Director

Japan Society for the Promotion of Science

Ryo Hirasawa

Professor Emeritus

University of Tokyo

Yasuyoshi Kakita

Director, Planning and Evaluation Division

Science and Technology Policy Bureau

Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology (MEXT)

Kotaro Kodera

Deputy Director of Washington Office

Japan Society for the Promotion of Science

Osamu Nakamura

Deputy Director

Evaluation Department

National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST)

Hisamichi Yamazaki

Official, Office for Research and Development Evaluation

Science and Technology Policy Bureau

Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology (MEXT)


Sue Smart

Head, Performance and Evaluation

Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC)


Julia Lane

Program Director

Science of Science & Innovation Policy

National Science Foundation

Patricia Jones Tsuchitani

Senior Advisor for Performance Assessment

Budget Division

National Science Foundation

Jennifer Thornhill

Science Assistant

Budget Division

National Science Foundation

Amber Baum

AAAS Fellow

Budget Division

National Science Foundation