Skip to main content
Email Print Share

Division of Physics


NSF/DOE Partnership in Basic Plasma Science and Engineering


CONTACTS
Name Email Phone Room
Vyacheslav (Slava)  Lukin vlukin@nsf.gov (703) 292-7382  1015 N  
John  Gillaspy jgillasp@nsf.gov (703) 292-7173  1015 N  
Bogdan  Mihaila bmihaila@nsf.gov (703) 292-8235  1015 N  
Nigel  A. Sharp nsharp@nsf.gov (703) 292-4905  1045 S  
Janet  U. Kozyra jkozyra@nsf.gov (703) 292-8519  775 S  
Ilia  I. Roussev iroussev@nsf.gov (703) 292-8519  775 S  
Triantafillos (Lakis)  Mountziaris tmountzi@nsf.gov (703) 292-8320  565 S  
Hao  Ling hling@nsf.gov (703) 292-2210  525 N  

Department of Energy Contacts:

Sean Finnegan, Program Manager, Fusion Energy Sciences, DOE/SC, telephone: (301) 903-4920, email: sean.finnegan@science.doe.gov

Nirmol Podder, Program Manager, Fusion Energy Sciences, DOE/SC, telephone: (301) 903-9536, email: nirmol.podder@science.doe.gov

Curt Bolton, Program Manager, Fusion Energy Sciences, DOE/SC, telephone: (301) 903-4914, email: curt.bolton@science.doe.gov


PROGRAM GUIDELINES

Solicitation  16-564

Important Information for Proposers

A revised version of the NSF Proposal & Award Policies & Procedures Guide (PAPPG) (NSF 16-1), is effective for proposals submitted, or due, on or after January 25, 2016. Please be advised that, depending on the specified due date, the guidelines contained in NSF 16-1 may apply to proposals submitted in response to this funding opportunity.

DUE DATES

Full Proposal Target Date:  October 21, 2016

Third Friday in October, Annually Thereafter

SYNOPSIS

Plasma Physics is a study of matter and physical systems whose intrinsic properties are governed by collective interactions of large ensembles of free charged particles. 99.9% of the visible Universe is thought to consist of plasmas. The underlying physics of the collective behavior in plasmas has applications to space physics and astrophysics, materials science, applied mathematics, fusion science, accelerator science, and many branches of engineering.

The National Science Foundation (NSF), with participation of the Directorates for Engineering, Geosciences, and Mathematical and Physical Sciences, and the Department of Energy, Office of Science, Fusion Energy Sciences are continuing the joint Partnership in Basic Plasma Science and Engineering begun in FY1997 and renewed several times since. As stated in the original solicitation (NSF 97-39), which is superseded by the present solicitation, the goal of the initiative is to enhance basic plasma research and education in this broad, multidisciplinary field by coordinating efforts and combining resources of the two agencies. The current solicitation also encourages submission of proposals to perform basic plasma experiments at NSF and DOE supported user facilities, such as the Basic Plasma Science Facility at the University of California, Los Angeles and facilities located at DOE national laboratories, designed to serve the needs of the broader plasma community.

Display additional information

REVISIONS AND UPDATES

THIS PROGRAM IS PART OF

What Has Been Funded (Recent Awards Made Through This Program, with Abstracts)

Map of Recent Awards Made Through This Program