text-only page produced automatically by LIFT Text Transcoder Skip all navigation and go to page contentSkip top navigation and go to directorate navigationSkip top navigation and go to page navigation
National Science Foundation Home National Science Foundation - Biological Sciences (BIO)
Biological Sciences (BIO)
design element
BIO Home
About BIO
Funding Opportunities
Advisory Committee
Career Opportunities
BIO Program Director and Reviewer Opportunities
Supplements & Other Opportunities
See Additional BIO Resources
View BIO Staff
BIO Organizations
Biological Infrastructure (DBI)
Environmental Biology (DEB)
Emerging Frontiers (EF)
Integrative Organismal Systems (IOS)
Molecular and Cellular Biosciences (MCB)
Proposals and Awards
Proposal and Award Policies and Procedures Guide
Proposal Preparation and Submission
bullet Grant Proposal Guide
  bullet Grants.gov Application Guide
Award and Administration
bullet Award and Administration Guide
Award Conditions
Merit Review
NSF Outreach
Policy Office
Additional BIO Resources
The BRAIN Initiative
FY 2015 BIO Budget Excerpts
BIO's Guidance on Data Management Plans
Dear Colleague Letters: BIO and Foundation-wide
List of BIO Cyberinfrastructure Reports
National Ecological Observatory Network (NEON)
Partnership for Undergraduate Life Science Education (PULSE)
Supplements & Other Opportunities
Science Across Virtual Institutes (SAVI)
Broadening Participation Activities
NSF's Career-Life Balance Initiative
Interdisciplinary Research
BIO Reports
NSF Strategic Plan: 2011-2016
NSF Information Related to the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009
Merit Review (effective Jan. 14, 2013)
Image Credits
Other Site Features
Special Reports
Research Overviews
Multimedia Gallery
Classroom Resources
NSF-Wide Investments

Email this pagePrint this page
Staff Directory

Directorate for Biological Sciences  (BIO/OAD)

Phone: (703) 292-8400 | Fax: (703) 292-9154 | Room: 605 N

Expand this list
Assistant Director
James L. Olds (703) 292-8400 605 N jolds@nsf.gov
Deputy Assistant Director
Jane Silverthorne 605 N jsilvert@nsf.gov
Senior Advisor for Planning, Analysis and Operations
Sonya E. Mallinoff (703) 292-8400 605 N smallino@nsf.gov
NEON Program Director
Elizabeth R. Blood (703) 292-4349 675 N eblood@nsf.gov
Program Director
Charles D. Liarakos (703) 292-7904 605 N cliarako@nsf.gov
Courtland S. Lewis (703) 292-8380 585 N clewis@associates.nsf.gov
Staff Associate
Melissa H. Cragin (703) 292-7812 605 N mcragin@nsf.gov
Administrative Coordinator
Maria L. Sutton (703) 292-4364 605 N msutton@nsf.gov
Project Manager
Montona L. Futrell-Griggs (703) 292-7162 605 N mfutrell@nsf.gov
Science Writer
Caitlin M. Schrein (703) 292-7914 605 N cschrein@nsf.gov
Student Trainee (Administrative)
Alexis Patullo (703) 292-2265 605 N apatullo@nsf.gov
Student Trainee (Administrative)
Adina Evans (703) 292-7469 605 N adevans@nsf.gov
IT Computer Specialist
Jeffrey Lawson (703) 292-7915 695 N jlawson@nsf.gov
Computer Specialist
Dale Wood (703) 292-7913 695 N dwood@nsf.gov
Student Trainee (Administrative)
Christine DeBruin (703) 292-7467 605 N cdebruin@nsf.gov
Program Specialist
Josh Hamilton 605 N jhamilto@nsf.gov

Division of Molecular & Cellular Biosciences
Phone: (703) 292-8440

  • Cellular Dynamics and Function 
  • Genetic Mechanisms 
  • Molecular Biophysics 
  • Systems and Synthetic Biology 

Division of Biological Infrastructure
Phone: (703) 292-8470

  • Human Resources 
  • Research Resources 

Division of Integrative Organismal Systems
Phone: (703) 292-8420

  • Behavioral Systems Cluster 
  • Developmental Systems Cluster 
  • Neural Systems Cluster 
  • Physiological and Structural Systems Cluster 
  • Plant Genome Research Program (PGRP) 

Division of Environmental Biology
Phone: (703) 292-8480

  • Population & Community Ecology Cluster 
  • Ecosystem Science Cluster 
  • Evolutionary Processes Cluster 
  • Systematic Biodiversity Science Cluster 

Emerging Frontiers Office
Phone: (703) 292-8400

Search Staff Directory

Email this pagePrint this page
Back to Top of page