text-only page produced automatically by LIFT Text Transcoder Skip all navigation and go to page contentSkip top navigation and go to directorate navigationSkip top navigation and go to page navigation
National Science Board
Standing Committees
dividing line
Executive Committee (EC)
dividing line
Committee on Audit & Oversight (A&O)
dividing line
Committee on Education and Human Resources (CEH)
dividing line
Committee on Programs & Plans (CPP)
dividing line
Committee on Science and Engineering Indicators (SEI)
dividing line
Committee on Strategy & Budget (CSB)
dividing line
Subcommittees, Task Forces and adhoc Committees
ad hoc 2014-2020 Nominations Committee
CSB Subcommittee on Facilities
Taskforce on Administrative Burden (AB)
dividing line
Archived Committees
dividing line
NSB Staff
dividing line
Contact NSB
dividing line
NSB Site Map
dividing line
Go to NSF  Go to USA.gov

Task Force on Merit Review (MR)


All National Science Foundation (NSF) proposals, as part of the Merit Review process, are evaluated with respect to two equally important Merit Review Criteria—Intellectual Merit and Broader Impacts. The two-criteria system was instituted in 1997, replacing a four-criteria system in place since 1981, in which reviewers had evaluated researcher performance competence, intrinsic merit of the research, utility or relevance of the research, and effect on the infrastructure of science and engineering. more...

Discharged February 6, 2012

Task Force Members

Co-Chairmen: Dr. John T. Bruer
Dr. Alan I. Leshner
Members:   Dr. Douglas D. Randall
Dr. Diane L. Souvaine
Dr. Thomas N. Taylor
Consultant:   Dr. Louis J. Lanzerotti
NSF Members:   Dr. Timothy L. Killeen
Executive Secretary: Dr. Joanne S. Tornow

NSBO Liaison:

Ms. Kim Silverman


For more information about file formats used on the NSF site, please see the Plug-ins and Viewers page.

Print this page NSF_NSB Twitter Follow Button Back to Top of page
  NSB Home | Web Policies & Important Links | Privacy | FOIA | Help | Contact NSB | Contact NSB Webmaster | NSB Site Map  
National Science Board
The National Science Board, 4201 Wilson Boulevard, Arlington, Virginia 22230, USA
Tel: (703) 292-7000, FIRS: (800) 877-8339 | TDD: (800) 281-8749
Last Updated:
Feb 07, 2012
Text Only

\ Last Updated: Apr 30, 2009