text-only page produced automatically by LIFT Text Transcoder Skip all navigation and go to page contentSkip top navigation and go to directorate navigationSkip top navigation and go to page navigation
National Science Foundation Home National Science Foundation - Computer & Information Science & Engineering (CISE)
Computer & Information Science & Engineering (CISE)
design element
About CISE
Funding Opportunities
Advisory Committee
Career Opportunities
Advisory Committee for Cyberinfrastructure
See Additional CISE Resources
View CISE Staff
CISE Organizations
Advanced Cyberinfrastructure (ACI)
Computing and Communication Foundations (CCF)
Computer and Network Systems (CNS)
Information & Intelligent Systems (IIS)
Proposals and Awards
Proposal and Award Policies and Procedures Guide
Proposal Preparation and Submission
bullet Grant Proposal Guide
  bullet Grants.gov Application Guide
Award and Administration
bullet Award and Administration Guide
Award Conditions
Other Types of Proposals
Merit Review
NSF Outreach
Policy Office
Additional CISE Resources
Assistant Director's Presentations and Congressional Testimony
CS Bits & Bytes
CISE Distinguished Lecture Series
Cyberlearning Webinar Series
WATCH Series
CISE Strategic Plan for Broadening Participation
Cybersecurity Ideas Lab Report
Keith Marzullo on Serving in CISE
Other Site Features
Special Reports
Research Overviews
Multimedia Gallery
Classroom Resources
NSF-Wide Investments

Email this pagePrint this page

Press Release 12-188
2012 Popular Mechanics Breakthrough Awardees Announced

MABEL bipedal robot, a novel ultralight metal, and an "around-the-corner" camera are NSF-supported technologies

Image of the bipedal robot MABEL.

MABEL is breaking new ground in robotics.
Credit and Larger Version

October 4, 2012

Popular Mechanics has announced its 2012 Breakthrough Awards. Awardees include three teams whose work received critical support from the National Science Foundation (NSF).

Popular Mechanics designates its Breakthrough Awards as follows: Innovators, whose inventions will make the world smarter, safer and more efficient in the years to come, and Products, which are setting benchmarks in design and engineering today. The three teams supported by NSF fall into the innovators category.

  • Jessy Grizzle of the University of Michigan and Jonathan Hurst of Oregon State University received a Popular Mechanics Innovator Award for their team's development of the MABEL bipedal robot. One of the fastest-moving and most sophisticated bipedal robots on Earth, the work on MABEL and her predecessors has been supported by NSF since 1999 through a range of grants including awards to Grizzle and to Hurst. A feature story produced in partnership with LiveScience.com describes MABEL.

    "Unlike other robots, MABEL has human like gait and a reflex response that allows it to step over obstacles" says Radhakisan Baheti, an NSF program officer in the Directorate for Engineering who has funded the work for over a decade. "Innovations in feedback control theory--through the study of highly nonlinear dynamics--have played a key role in MABEL's bipedal locomotion design."

  • Julia R. Greer of Caltech, Lorenzo Valdevit of University of California, Irvine, and their collaborators Alan Jacobson, William Carter, and Toby Schaedler at Malibu, Calif., based HRL Laboratories received a Popular Mechanics Innovator Award for their team's development of micro-lattice ultralight metal. The material is light enough to sit atop a dandelion's fluffy seeds without damaging them, yet is also strong, and compressible.  Greer is an NSF CAREER awardee with several NSF grants, and Valdevit has also received NSF support.

  • Christopher Barsi, Moungi Bawendi, Otkrist Gupta and Ramesh Raskar of the MIT Media Lab and colleagues Andreas Velten of the Univ. of Wisconsin, Thomas Willwacher of Harvard University, and Ashok Veeraraghavan  of Rice University received a Popular Mechanics Innovator Award for their team's development of a laser camera that can see around corners. The technology bounces laser light off surfaces and targets, processing the results to reveal objects otherwise obscured by walls and other obstacles. Raskar is an NSF Innovation Corps (I-Corps) grantee and has received several NSF grants.

    "Light transport theory plays a significant role in computer graphics and visualization," says Lawrence Rosenblum, an NSF program officer in the Directorate for Computer & Information Science & Engineering who supported Raskar's work. "One of Raskar's grants involves developing computational methods for ultra-fast imaging, which is necessary for developing this breakthrough. We anticipate that his innovative work will establish a new area of graphics research, and perhaps novel hardware capabilities."

Popular Mechanics will present all of the awards in a ceremony this evening, and will feature the awards in the November issue of the magazine. The ceremony will also highlight this year's Leadership Award winner, Elon Musk, the CEO of SpaceX and Tesla Motors.

"We are once again excited to recognize this year's list of incredible honorees for their role in shaping the future," says James B. Meigs, editor-in-chief of Popular Mechanics. "From a featherweight metal to the world's fastest and most electrically efficient supercomputer, this year's winners embody the creative spirit that the Breakthrough Awards were founded upon."

A full list of winners, including short features about their work, can be found at the Popular Mechanics website. You can also follow the 2012 Breakthrough Awards on Twitter @PopMech, #BTA2012.


Media Contacts
Joshua A. Chamot, NSF, (703) 292-7730, jchamot@nsf.gov
Brian Bell, Caltech, (626) 395-5832, Bpbell@caltech.edu
Alexandra Kahn, MIT Media Lab, (617) 253-0365, akahn@media.mit.edu
Nicole Casal Moore, University of Michigan, (734) 647-7087, ncmoore@umich.edu
David Stauth, Oregon State University, 541-737-0787, david.stauth@oregonstate.edu
Erik Wirtanen, University of California, Irvine, (949) 824-3962, ewirtane@uci.edu
Leni , Schimpf, Rosen Group/Popular Mechanics, (646) 695-7045, leni@rosengrouppr.com

Program Contacts
Radhakishan Baheti, NSF, (703) 292-8339, rbaheti@nsf.gov
Lawrence Rosenblum, NSF, (703) 292-8930, lrosenbl@nsf.gov

Principal Investigators
Julia R. Greer, Caltech, (626) 395-4127, jrgreer@caltech.edu
Ramesh Raskar, MIT Media Lab, (617) 253-0329, raskar@media.mit.edu
Jessy Grizzle, University of Michigan, (734) 763-3598, grizzle@umich.edu

Jonathan Hurst, Oregon State University, (541) 737-7010, jonathan.hurst@oregonstate.edu

The National Science Foundation (NSF) is an independent federal agency that supports fundamental research and education across all fields of science and engineering. In fiscal year (FY) 2015, its budget is $7.3 billion. NSF funds reach all 50 states through grants to nearly 2,000 colleges, universities and other institutions. Each year, NSF receives about 48,000 competitive proposals for funding, and makes about 11,000 new funding awards. NSF also awards about $626 million in professional and service contracts yearly.

 Get News Updates by Email 

Useful NSF Web Sites:
NSF Home Page: http://www.nsf.gov
NSF News: http://www.nsf.gov/news/
For the News Media: http://www.nsf.gov/news/newsroom.jsp
Science and Engineering Statistics: http://www.nsf.gov/statistics/
Awards Searches: http://www.nsf.gov/awardsearch/


Image showing the experimental setup of the CORNAR system.
Experimental setup of the CORNAR system.
Credit and Larger Version

Photo of Caltech materials science expert Julia Greer holding micro-lattice ultralight metal.
Caltech materials science expert Julia Greer holding micro-lattice ultralight metal.
Credit and Larger Version

Email this pagePrint this page
Back to Top of page