text-only page produced automatically by LIFT Text Transcoder Skip all navigation and go to page contentSkip top navigation and go to directorate navigationSkip top navigation and go to page navigation
National Science Foundation
design element
News From the Field
For the News Media
Special Reports
Research Overviews
NSF-Wide Investments
Speeches & Lectures
NSF Director's Newsletter
Multimedia Gallery
News Archive
News by Research Area
Arctic & Antarctic
Astronomy & Space
Chemistry & Materials
Earth & Environment
People & Society

Email this pagePrint this page

Media Advisory 04-38
New National Science Board Members Appointed -- Full Board to Meet (Dec. 15-16)

December 7, 2004

Arlington, Va.—The president on Nov. 29 signed the appointments of eight new members to the National Science Board (NSB), the 24-member policymaking body for the National Science Foundation (NSF) and advisor to the president and Congress on science and engineering issues.

Arden L. Bement Jr. was appointed NSF's new director on Nov. 24.

New members.

The new NSB members, whose terms last until May 2010, include: Steven C. Beering (second term), president emeritus, Purdue University; and first-term appointees Dan Arvizu, a chief technology officer at CH2M Hill Companies, Ltd. and Executive Director for Energy and Technologies at the University of Chicago; G. Wayne Clough, President, Georgia Institute of Technology; Kelvin K. Droegemeier, professor of meteorology and Director of the Center for Analysis and Prediction of Storms at the University of Oklahoma; Louis J. Lanzerotti, Distinguished Professor of Physics at the New Jersey Institute of Technology; Alan I. Leshner, Chief Executive Officer, American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS); Jon Strauss, President, Harvey Mudd College in Claremont, Calif.; and Kathryn D. Sullivan, President and CEO, Center of Science and Industry (COSI), Columbus, Ohio.

December meeting.

Media are invited to attend open sessions of the National Science Board (NSB) meeting Dec. 15-16, 2004, at the National Science Foundation's (NSF) headquarters, 4201 Wilson Blvd., Arlington, Va. This is one of the NSB's regular meetings.

Highlights of the December meeting will include the swearing in of new members as well as discussions of a potential NSB response to the April 2004 National Academy of Public Administration report on NSF management issues, and the status of a report on NSF major research facilities.

Public sessions for NSB committees and task forces are scheduled in rooms 1235 and 1295. Visitors to the sessions should check in at the security desk, 9th and Stuart Streets entrance. For directions, see: http://www.nsf.gov/home/visit/visitjump.htm)

Reporters are invited to attend all open sessions, subject to provisions of the Government in the Sunshine Act. The meeting agenda is available at: http://www.nsf.gov/nsb/meetings/2004/1004/index.htm

More comprehensive information regarding the National Science Board's current and past activities, publications, policies and meetings is at: http://www.nsf.gov/nsb


Media Contacts
William C. Noxon, NSF, (703) 292-8070, wnoxon@nsf.gov

Program Contacts
Jean Pomeroy, NSF, (703) 292-7000, jpomeroy@nsf.gov

The National Science Foundation (NSF) is an independent federal agency that supports fundamental research and education across all fields of science and engineering. In fiscal year (FY) 2016, its budget is $7.5 billion. NSF funds reach all 50 states through grants to nearly 2,000 colleges, universities and other institutions. Each year, NSF receives more than 48,000 competitive proposals for funding and makes about 12,000 new funding awards. NSF also awards about $626 million in professional and service contracts yearly.

 Get News Updates by Email 

Useful NSF Web Sites:
NSF Home Page: http://www.nsf.gov
NSF News: http://www.nsf.gov/news/
For the News Media: http://www.nsf.gov/news/newsroom.jsp
Science and Engineering Statistics: http://www.nsf.gov/statistics/
Awards Searches: http://www.nsf.gov/awardsearch/



Email this pagePrint this page
Back to Top of page