text-only page produced automatically by LIFT Text Transcoder Skip all navigation and go to page contentSkip top navigation and go to directorate navigationSkip top navigation and go to page navigation
National Science Foundation Home National Science Foundation - Geosciences (GEO)
Atmospheric and Geospace Sciences (AGS)
design element
AGS Home
About AGS
Funding Opportunities
Awards
News
Events
Discoveries
Publications
Career Opportunities
Environmental Compliance
See Additional AGS Resources
View AGS Staff
GEO Organizations
Atmospheric and Geospace Sciences (AGS)
Earth Sciences (EAR)
Ocean Sciences (OCE)
Polar Programs (PLR)
Proposals and Awards
Proposal and Award Policies and Procedures Guide
  Introduction
Proposal Preparation and Submission
bullet Grant Proposal Guide
  bullet Grants.gov Application Guide
Award and Administration
bullet Award and Administration Guide
Award Conditions
Other Types of Proposals
Merit Review
NSF Outreach
Policy Office
Additional AGS Resources
AGS Data Policy
Handbook for AGS Postdoctoral Research Fellows
Proposals for Cyberinfrastructure in AGS
Other Site Features
Special Reports
Research Overviews
Multimedia Gallery
Classroom Resources
NSF-Wide Investments

Email this pagePrint this page

Transforming Undergraduate Education in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics

This program has been archived.

CONTACTS

Name Email Phone Room
Don  L. Millard dmillard@nsf.gov (703) 292-4620  835 N  
Myles  Boylan mboylan@nsf.gov (703) 292-4617  835 N  
Susan  Finger sfinger@nsf.gov (703) 292-4639  835 N  
Terry  Woodin twoodin@nsf.gov (703) 292-4657  835 N  

Proposers are encouraged to contact a DUE Program Director in their discipline:

Biological Sciences

  • V. Celeste Carter, Program Director, telephone: (703)292-4651, email: vccarter@nsf.gov
  • Kathleen Bergin, Program Director, telephone: (703)292-5171, email: kbergin@nsf.gov
  • William Grisham, Program Director, telephone: (703)292-2260, email: wgrisham@nsf.gov
  • Jose Herrera, Program Director, telephone: (703)-292-5128, email: jherrera@nsf.gov
  • Joan Prival, Program Director, telephone: (703)292-4635, email: jprival@nsf.gov
  • Terry Woodin, Program Director, telephone: (703)292-4657, email: twoodin@nsf.gov

Chemistry

  • David Brown, Program Director, telephone: (703)292-8831, email: drbrown@nsf.gov  
  • Joseph Grabowski, Program Director, telephone: (703)292-4653, email: jgrabows@nsf.gov
  • Herbert Richtol, Program Director, telephone: (703)292-4648, email: hrichtol@nsf.gov
  • Dawn Rickey, Program Director, telephone: (703)292-4674, email: drickey@nsf.gov

Computer Science

  • Guy-Alain Amoussou, Program Director, telephone: (703)292-8670, email: gamousso@nsf.gov
  • Jane Prey, Program Director, telephone: (703)292-4629, email: jprey@nsf.gov
  • Victor Piotrowski, Program Director, telephone: (703)292-5141, email: vpiotrow@nsf.gov
  • Suzanne Westbrook, Program Director, telephone: (703)292-4640, swestbro@nsf.gov

Engineering

  • Maura Borrego, Program Director, telephone: (703)292-7855, email: mborrego@nsf.gov
  • Louis Everett, Program Director, telephone: (703)292-4645, email: leverett@nsf.gov
  • Susan Finger, Program Director, telephone: (703)292-4639, email: sfinger@nsf.gov
  • Amy Chan Hilton, Program Director, telephone: (703)292-4623, email: achanhil@nsf.gov
  • Don Millard, Program Director, telephone: (703)292-4620, email: dmillard@nsf.gov
  • John Yu, Program Director, telephone: (703)292-4647, email: zyu@nsf.gov

Geological Sciences

  • Peter Lea, Program Director, telephone: (703)292-4643, email: plea@nsf.gov

Interdisciplinary

  • Corby Hovis, Program Director, telephone: (703)292-4625, email: chovis@nsf.gov
  • Herbert Richtol, Program Director, telephone: (703)292-4648, email: hrichtol@nsf.gov

Mathematics

  • Ron Buckmire, Program Director, telephone: (703)292-5323, email: rbuckmir@nsf.gov
  • Michael Jacobson, Program Director, telephone: (703)292-4641, email: mjacobso@nsf.gov
  • Lee Zia, Program Director, telephone: (703)292-5140, email: lzia@nsf.gov

Physics / Astronomy

  • Joyce Evans, Program Director, telephone: (703)292-5098, email: jevans@nsf.gov
  • Duncan McBride, Program Director, telephone: (703)292-4630, email: dmcbride@nsf.gov
  • Gary White, Program Director, telephone: (703)292-4618, email: gwhite@nsf.gov

Research / Assessment

  • Connie Della-Piana, Program Director, telephone: (703)292-5309, email: cdellapi@nsf.gov

Social Sciences

  • Myles Boylan, Program Director, telephone: (703)292-4617, email: mboylan@nsf.gov

PROGRAM GUIDELINES

Solicitation  10-544

Important Information for Proposers

A revised version of the NSF Proposal & Award Policies & Procedures Guide (PAPPG) (NSF 15-1), is effective for proposals submitted, or due, on or after December 26, 2014. The PAPPG is consistent with, and, implements the new Uniform Administrative Requirements, Cost Principles, and Audit Requirements for Federal Awards (Uniform Guidance) (2 CFR 200). NSF anticipates release of the PAPPG in the Fall of 2014. Please be advised that, depending on the specified due date, the guidelines contained in NSF 15-1 may apply to proposals submitted in response to this funding opportunity.

DUE DATES

Archived

SYNOPSIS

The Transforming Undergraduate Education in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (TUES) program seeks to improve the quality of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) education for all undergraduate students. This solicitation especially encourages projects that have the potential to transform undergraduate STEM education, for example, by bringing about widespread adoption of classroom practices that embody understanding of how students learn most effectively. Thus transferability and dissemination are critical aspects for projects developing instructional materials and methods and should be considered throughout the project's lifetime. More advanced projects should involve efforts to facilitate adaptation at other sites.

The program supports efforts to create, adapt, and disseminate new learning materials and teaching strategies to reflect advances both in STEM disciplines and in what is known about teaching and learning. It funds projects that develop faculty expertise, implement educational innovations, assess learning and evaluate innovations, prepare K-12 teachers, or conduct research on STEM teaching and learning. It also supports projects that further the work of the program itself, for example, synthesis and dissemination of findings across the program. The program supports projects representing different stages of development, ranging from small, exploratory investigations to large, comprehensive projects.

EDUCATIONAL OPPORTUNITY

This program provides educational opportunities for  Undergraduate Students . This program provides indirect funding for undergraduate students or focuses on educational developments for this group such as curriculum development, training, or retention. To inquire about possible funding opportunities not directly from NSF, please look at the active awards for this program.

RELATED URLS

CCLI Evaluation Planning Webinars, April 2008

CCLI Conference

Project Information Resource System

What Has Been Funded (Recent Awards Made Through This Program, with Abstracts)

Map of Recent Awards Made Through This Program

News

Discoveries

Events



Email this pagePrint this page
Back to Top of page