text-only page produced automatically by LIFT Text Transcoder Skip all navigation and go to page contentSkip top navigation and go to directorate navigationSkip top navigation and go to page navigation
National Science Foundation


REU Sites

REU Sites: Biological Sciences

APPLICATIONS: Students must contact the individual site or program to apply. NSF does not have application materials and does not select student participants.

ELIGIBILITY: Individual sites may have additional eligibility requirements (e.g., number of undergraduate years completed). Undergraduate student participants supported with NSF funds must be citizens or permanent residents of the United States or its possessions. High school graduates who have not yet enrolled, and students who have already received their bachelor's degrees, are not eligible.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION: Click on the Title of the Site in the "Site Information" column to go to the homepage (if available) for that Site. Sites are ordered alphabetically by host institution. All Sites provide stipends, housing and meals, in addition to travel to and from the Site. This listing will change as new REU Site awards are made. Sites are added or deleted as decisions are made on awards, and the list is updated periodically. Clicking on a highlighted site title should direct you to the web page for more information on that program. A link is also provided to allow you to view the geographic distribution of the programs (this link will take you to the Google Maps website). http://maps.google.com/maps/ms?msa=0&msid=201385854811463249384.0004a7f203de1eb115e18&hl=en&ie=UTF8&ll=38.788345,-96.811523&spn=26.927165,74.311523&z=5

REU Alumni: Please note the following opportunities: (1) Graduate Research Fellowship (GRF: http://www.nsfgrfp.org); (2) Graduate student summer experience abroad: East Asia Pacific Summer Institute Program (EAPSI: http://nsfsi.org/); and (3) Travel funds to present your REU project (http://www.bioreu.org).

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.bio@nsf.gov.

146 items found, displaying 81 to 100.[First/Prev] 3 4 5 6 7 [Next/Last]
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
Tuskegee, Alabama
Primary: Olga Bolden-Tiller
334-727-8403
obtiller@mytu.tuskegee.edu
Secondary: Deloris Alexander
334-552-0690
dalexander@mytu.tuskegee.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Integrative Biosciences, Biology, Bioinformatics, Animal, Plant, Soil, Environment
Comments: Program Contact: Ms. Marilyn Hooks - mhooks@mytu.tuskegee.edu - 334-727-8453
Abstract of Award
Bismarck, North Dakota
Primary: Jeremy Guinn
701-255-3285 x1458
jguinn@uttc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Ecology, Northern Plains, Reservations, Tribal Colleges, Grasslands
Abstract of Award
University of Alaska Anchorage
REU Site: Ecology and Physiological Ecology in Alaska
Biological Sciences
Anchorage, Alaska
Primary: Khrystyne  Duddleston
907-786-7762
afkd1@uaa.alaska.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Ecology, Physiological Ecology, Alaska
Abstract of Award
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Primary: Michelle Evans-White
479-575-4706
mevanswh@uark.edu
Secondary: Marty Matlock
479-575-2849
mmatlock@uark.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: aquatic, forests, lakes, streams, agricultural ecosystems, ecology, ecosystem function, ecosystem processes, community ecology
Comments: Co-PI: J. Thad Scott, jts004@uark.edu, 479-575-6337
Abstract of Award
University of California at Santa Cruz
REU Site: Biological impacts of climate change: testing hypotheses with collections and long-term data
Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
Santa Cruz,
Primary: Barry Sinervo
831-295-4692
lizardrps@gmail.com
Secondary: Laurel Fox
831-459-2533
fox@ucsc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: climate change, community ecology, curation, modeling, GIS, behavior, ecophysiology
Comments: Coordinator: Barry Sinervo
Abstract of Award
University of California Berkeley
REU site: Integrative Biology at UC Berkeley, from Molecules to Ecosystems
Host department: Integrative Biology / 13 participating departments
Berkeley, California
Primary: Hayes, Tyrone
510-643-1055
tyrone@berkeley.edu
Secondary: Weisblat, David
(510) 642-8309
weisblat@berkeley.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Integrative Biology Evolution, Development
Comments: contact: reuapplic@lists.berkeley.edu
Abstract of Award
University of California Merced
REU Site: Yosemite Environmental Science Research Training
Sierra Nevada Research Institute
Merced, California
Primary: Stephen (Steve) Hart
209-228-4656
shart4@ucmerced.edu
Secondary: John (Mike) Beman
209-228-4713
jmbeman@gmail.com
Research Topics/Keywords: "population, community, and ecosystem ecology; aquatic ecology and chemistry; hydrology; biogeochemistry; wildlife and conservation biology; anthropology; geography"
Comments: "Dr. Becca Fenwick, Yosemite Field Station Manager; Phone: 209-375-9917; Email: beccafenwick@gmail.com"
Abstract of Award
University of California Riverside
REU Site: Research Experiences for Undergraduates in Plant and Plant Cell Biology
Plant Pathology and Microbiology
Riverside, California
Primary: Howard Judelson
951-827-4199
howard.judelson@ucr.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, plant biology, plant pathology, molecular biology, cell biology
Abstract of Award
University of California San Francisco, Medical Center
REU Site in Molecular Biosciences
All Departments
San Francisco, California
Primary: Carol Gross
415-476-4161
cgrossucsf@gmail.com
Secondary: Hana El Samad
415-476-2596
helsamad@gmail.com
Research Topics/Keywords: Genetics/Genomics, Biochemistry, cell biology, systems/synthetic biology; bioengineering
Comments: julia.clark@ucsf.edu
Abstract of Award
Edmond, Oklahoma
Primary: John Barthell
405-974-2481
jbarthell@uco.edu
Secondary: Charles Abramson
(405) 744-7492
charles.abramson@okstate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biological invasions, honey bees, integrative and comparative biology, international research, international
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: International Science and Engineering
University of Chicago
"REU Site in Molecular Genetics & Cell Biology at The University of
Molecular Genetics and Cell Biology
Chicago, Illinois
Primary: Aaron Turkewitz
773-702-4374
apturkew@uchicago.edu
Secondary: Lucia B Rothman-Denes
773-702-1083
lbrd@uchicago.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: mechanisms underlying molecular, cellular and developmental biology
Comments: Catherine Will (cwill@bsd.uchicago.edu)
Abstract of Award
University of Cincinnati
New REU Site: Sensory Ecology: An Integrative Approach
Biological Sciences
Cincinnati, Ohio
Primary: Kenneth Petren
513-556-9719
ken.petren@uc.edu
Secondary: George Uetz
513-556-9752
uetzgw@ucmail.uc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Behavior, population biology, field research, neurobiology, ethology, genetics
Comments: Charmaine Mitchell, program coordinator, 513-556-9750
Abstract of Award
University of Connecticut
REU Site: Research Experiences in Physiology and Neurobioloby at UCONN
Physiology and Neurobiology Department
Storrs, Connecticut
Primary: Xinnian Chen
860-486-6169
Xinnian.chen@uconn.edu
Secondary: Larry Renfro
860-486-4119
larry.renfro@uconn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: physiology, developmental neurobiology, renal physiology, respiratory physiology, synaptic plasticity, neural circuits, molecular and cell biology, bioinformatics, computational biology
Comments: PNB REU Program coordinator: Susan Buraceski (Susan.buraceski@uconn.edu)
Abstract of Award
St. Augustine, Florida
Primary: Seaver, Elaine
904-461-4030
seaver@whitney.ufl.edu
Secondary: Ryan, Joseph
904-461-4046
joseph.ryan@whitney.ufl.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: evolution, embryogenesis, genomics, bioinformatics, marine biology, development, coastal ecology, biogeochemistry, molecular biology, locomotion, neurobiology
Comments: Brenda Cannaliato brenda@whitney.ufl.edu
Abstract of Award
University of Georgia
REU Site: Research in Prokaryotic Biology
Microbiology
Athens, Georgia
Primary: Vincent Starai
706-542-5755
vjstarai@uga.edu
Secondary: Diana Downs
706-542-9573
dmdowns@uga.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: microbiology, bacteriology, microbial ecology, bacterial symbiosis, microbial physiology
Abstract of Award
University of Georgia
REU Site: Population Biology of Infectious Diseases
Odum School of Ecology (and 11 others)
Athens, Georgia
Primary: John Drake
706-583-5539
jdrake@uga.edu
Secondary: Michael Strand
706-583-8237
mrstrand@uga.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Infections disease, ecology of infectious disease, epidemics, immunology, host-parasite coevolution, genetics of infectious disease, epidemiology, immunology, within-host dynamics, modeling, data mini
Abstract of Award
University of Georgia
REU Site: Undergraduate Biology Education Research Program
Division of Biological Sciences and Mathematics and Science Education Department
Athens, Georgia
Primary: Julie Stanton
(706) 542-2978
stantonj@uga.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biology Education Research
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Biological Sciences
Athens, Georgia
Primary: Jonathan Arnold
706-542-1449
arnold@uga.edu
Secondary: David Logan
(404) 906-6669
dlogan@cau.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: gnomics, computational biology, epigenetics, bioinformatics, systems biology
Abstract of Award
Hilo, Hawaii
Primary: Rebecca Ostertag
ostertag@hawaii.edu
Secondary: Sharon Ziegler
ziegler@hawaii.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, ecology, environmental science, conservation, tropical
Comments: Please contact: Sharon Ziegler-Chong 808-933-0759; ziegler@hawaii.edu
Abstract of Award
University of Idaho
REU Site: Interdisciplinary Approach to Challenges posed by Invasive Species and Small Populations of Native Species
College of Natural Resources; College of Agricultural and Life Sciences
Moscow, Idaho
Primary: Janet L. Rachlow
208-885-9328
jrachlow@uidaho.edu
Secondary: Jodi Johnson-Maynard
208-885-9245
jmaynard@uidaho.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Invasive Species Ecology, Conservation Biology, Natural Resources, Agricultural Resources
Comments: REU Coordinator: Marijka Haverhals (marijka@uidaho.edu)
Abstract of Award
146 items found, displaying 81 to 100.[First/Prev] 3 4 5 6 7 [Next/Last]

Search Again

 

Back to Top of page