text-only page produced automatically by LIFT Text Transcoder Skip all navigation and go to page contentSkip top navigation and go to directorate navigationSkip top navigation and go to page navigation
National Science Foundation


REU Sites

REU Sites: Biological Sciences

APPLICATIONS: Students must contact the individual site or program to apply. NSF does not have application materials and does not select student participants.

ELIGIBILITY: Individual sites may have additional eligibility requirements (e.g., number of undergraduate years completed). Undergraduate student participants supported with NSF funds must be citizens or permanent residents of the United States or its possessions. High school graduates who have not yet enrolled, and students who have already received their bachelor's degrees, are not eligible.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION: Click on the Title of the Site in the "Site Information" column to go to the homepage (if available) for that Site. Sites are ordered alphabetically by host institution. All Sites provide stipends, housing and meals, in addition to travel to and from the Site. This listing will change as new REU Site awards are made. Sites are added or deleted as decisions are made on awards, and the list is updated periodically. Clicking on a highlighted site title should direct you to the web page for more information on that program. A link is also provided to allow you to view the geographic distribution of the programs (this link will take you to the Google Maps website). http://maps.google.com/maps/ms?msa=0&msid=201385854811463249384.0004a7f203de1eb115e18&hl=en&ie=UTF8&ll=38.788345,-96.811523&spn=26.927165,74.311523&z=5

REU Alumni: Please note the following opportunities: (1) Graduate Research Fellowship (GRF: http://www.nsfgrfp.org); (2) Graduate student summer experience abroad: East Asia Pacific Summer Institute Program (EAPSI: http://nsfsi.org/); and (3) Travel funds to present your REU project (http://www.bioreu.org).

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.bio@nsf.gov.

147 items found, displaying 61 to 80.[First/Prev] 2 3 4 5 6 [Next/Last]
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
Gothic, Colorado
Primary: Ian Billick
970-349-7231
director@rmbl.org
Secondary: Jennifer Reithel
970 349 1288
sd@rmbl.org
Research Topics/Keywords: field research, ecology, evolutionary biology, ecological genomics
Comments: For questions about the program, contact Dr. Jennifer Reithel, sd@rmbl.org
Abstract of Award
Rutgers, The State Univeristy of New Jersey - Camden Campus
REU Site: Computational Biology Summer Program at Rutgers-Camden
The Center for Computational and Integrative Biology (CCIB)
Camden, New Jersey
Primary: Benedetto Piccoli
856-225-6356
piccoli@camden.rutgers.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: computational biology, mathematical biology, biofuels, group movement, ecosystems, computational modeling
Comments: Karen Taylor, CCIB Manager will coordinate the REU site
Abstract of Award
Camden, New Jersey
Primary: Heike Bucking
856.225.6590
bucking@camden.rutgers.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Ecology, botany, neuroscience, zoology, biochemistry, and analytical chemistry
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Biological Sciences
Samford University
Interdisciplinary research in a diverse Appalachian ridge and valley ecosystem
Biological and Environmental Sciences
Birmingham, Alabama
Primary: Rita Fincher
205-726-2928
rmfinche@samford.edu
Secondary: Betsy Dobbins
(205) 726-2937
egdobbin@samford.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Ecology, Population biology, Botany, Geography, Plant chemistry, Molcular biology, Cell biology, Pathogenesis
Abstract of Award
Sanford Research in collaboration with Augustana College
REU Site in Cellular and Molecular Biology at Sanford Research and Augustana College
Children's Health Research Center/Department of Biology
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Primary: David Pearce
605-312-6073
David.Pearce@sanfordhealth.org
Secondary: Seasson Vitiello
605-274-5525
Seasson.Vitiello@augie.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: cell biology, molecular biology, protein, DNA, RNA, bioinformatics, genomics, biochemistry, genetics, chemistry, cell signaling, cell stress, model systems
Comments: For specific questions or comments please email REU@sanfordhealth.org or call 605-312-6590.
Abstract of Award
San Francisco, California
Primary: Carmen Domingo
415-338-6995
cdomingo@sfsu.ed
Secondary: Sarah Cohen
415-338-3750
sarahcoh@sfsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: ecology, evolution, developmental biology
Comments: Ms. Barbara Ford, nsfreu@sfsu.edu
Abstract of Award
San Jose, California
Primary: Julio G Soto
408-924-4925
julio.soto@sjsu.edu
Secondary: Miri VanHoven
408-924-4845
miri.vanhoven@sjsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Genetics, Cell Biology, Microbiology, Physiology, Forensics
Abstract of Award
Edgewater, Maryland
Primary: John Parker
443-482-2221
parkerj@si.edu
Secondary: Anson Hines
443-482-2208
hinesa@si.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: climate change, biological invasions, biodiversity and ecosystem function, environmental education, biogeochemistry, Chesapeake Bay, global change ecology, forest ecology, marine ecology, estuarine ec
Comments: Fellowship Coordinator: Dan Gustafson, gustafsond@si.edu, 443-482-2217
Abstract of Award
Panama City, Panama
Primary: W. Owen McMillan
507-212-8299
mcmillano@si.edu
Secondary: Ana K. Spalding
507-212-8281
spaldinga@si.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Tropical biodiversity, Biology, Ecology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Math, adaptation, resilience, ecosystem change
Abstract of Award
South Dakota State University
REU Site: Interdisciplinary Undergraduate Reserach Experiences on Bioenergy
Biology and Microbiology, Plant Science, Agriculture and Biosystems Engineering, Geospatial Sciences
Brookings, South Dakota
Primary: Heike Bucking
605 688 5463
heike.bucking@sdstate.edu
Secondary: Jose Gonzalez
605-688-6907
jose.gonzalez@sdstate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Bioenergy, Feedstock Genomics, Microbiology, Environmental Sustainability, Biotechnology, Societal and economic impacts of bioenergy
Abstract of Award
Carbondale, Illinois
Primary: Clay Nielsen
618-453-6930
kezo92@siu.edu
Secondary: Sara Baer
618-453-3228
sgbaer@siu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Community Ecology, Conservation Biology, Ecology, Ecosystem Science, Ecotoxicology, Ecophysiology, Hydrology, Invasive Species Biology, Landscape Ecology, Population Biology
Abstract of Award
Texas A&M AgriLife Research / Texas A&M University
REU Site - Summer Undergraduate Research Program in Biochemistry
Biochemistry and Biophysics
College Station, Texas
Primary: Gary Kunkel
979-845-6257
g-kunkel@tamu.edu
Secondary: Mary Bryk
979-862-2294
bryk@tamu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biochemistry/molecular biology/genomics/proteomics/enzymology/structural biology/gene expression/membrane structure/developmental biology
Comments: coordinators are the PI and co-PI
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry
Texas A&M University Corpus Christi
REU Site: Climate Change, Global Warming and the Health of Texas Bays and Estuaries
Science and Engineering
Corpus Christi, Texas
Primary: Withers, Kim
361-825-3907
kim.withers@tamucc.edu
Secondary: Manuela Gardner
361-825-3959
manuela.gardner@tamucc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, ecology, environmental, conservation, plant
Abstract of Award
College Station, Texas
Primary: Kevin M. Heinz
979.845.2510
KMHeinz@tamu.edu
Secondary: Rebecca Hapes
979-845-9733
rhapes@tamu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, ecology, molecular biology, genomics, forensics, physiology, systematics, taxonomy, genetics, vector biology, agriculture, entomology
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Biological Sciences
The Scripps Research Institute, California Campus
REU Site: Scripps Structure and Function Summer Institute (SFSI)
Doctoral Program in Chemical and Biological Sciences
La Jolla, California
Primary: James Williamson
858.784.8740
jrwill@scripps.edu
Secondary: Dawn Eastmond
858.784.2872
eastmond@scripps.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: chemistry, immunology, computational bioogy, neuroscience, biophysics, chemical biology, microbiology, bioinformatics, cell biology, genetics, and structural biology
Abstract of Award
The Scripps Research Institute - Jupiter
REU Site: SURFing the Interface between Chemistry and Biology
Cancer Biology, Chemistry, Infectious Disease, Metabolism and Aging, Molecular Therapeutics, Neurosc
Jupiter, Florida
Primary: Katrin Karbstein
561 228 3210
kkarbst@scripps.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Chemical Biology, Biochemistry, Neuroscience,
Comments: Deborah Leach-Scampavia, leach@scripps.edu, 561 228 2003
Abstract of Award
Lawrence, Kansas
Primary: Robert Ward
785-864-5235
robward@ku.edu
Secondary: Victoria Corbin
785-864-3934
corbin@ku.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: molecular biology, genetics, developmental biology, neurobiology, microbiology, biochemistry, structural biology
Comments: For more information contact the program coordinator John Connolly at jconnolly@ku.edu
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Missoula, Montana
Primary: William E. Holben
406-243-6163
bill.holben@mso.umt.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: environmental biology, microbial ecology, plant ecology, ecological and evolutionalry genetics, ecology, internatioanl
Comments: Coordinator: Tara Westlie tara.westlie@mso.umt.edu, 406.243.5122
Abstract of Award
The University of Tennessee
REU Site: Microbial community interactions and functions
Microbiology
Knoxville, Tennessee
Primary: Steven Wilhelm
865-974-0665
wilhelm@utk.edu
Secondary: Erik Zinser
865-974-9283
ezinser@utk.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: microbiology, molecular ecology, microbial communities, microbial biochemistry
Comments: Program is managed by Dr Gary LeCleir
Abstract of Award
The Wadsworth Center
REU Site: Networking Basic Research for Biological Discovery
New York State Department of Health
Albany, New York
Primary: Sam Bowser
518-473-3856
bowser@wadsworth.org
Secondary: Mathew Kohn
matthew.kohn@health.ny.gov
Research Topics/Keywords: Molecular Genetics, Cell Biology, Structural and Computational Biology, Environmental Sciences
Comments: Mathew Kohn, Program Coordinator
Abstract of Award
147 items found, displaying 61 to 80.[First/Prev] 2 3 4 5 6 [Next/Last]

Search Again

 

Back to Top of page