text-only page produced automatically by LIFT Text Transcoder Skip all navigation and go to page contentSkip top navigation and go to directorate navigationSkip top navigation and go to page navigation
National Science Foundation


REU Sites

REU Sites: Biological Sciences

APPLICATIONS: Students must contact the individual site or program to apply. NSF does not have application materials and does not select student participants.

ELIGIBILITY: Individual sites may have additional eligibility requirements (e.g., number of undergraduate years completed). Undergraduate student participants supported with NSF funds must be citizens or permanent residents of the United States or its possessions. High school graduates who have not yet enrolled, and students who have already received their bachelor's degrees, are not eligible.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION: Click on the Title of the Site in the "Site Information" column to go to the homepage (if available) for that Site. Sites are ordered alphabetically by host institution. All Sites provide stipends, housing and meals, in addition to travel to and from the Site. This listing will change as new REU Site awards are made. Sites are added or deleted as decisions are made on awards, and the list is updated periodically. Clicking on a highlighted site title should direct you to the web page for more information on that program. A link is also provided to allow you to view the geographic distribution of the programs (this link will take you to the Google Maps website). http://maps.google.com/maps/ms?msa=0&msid=201385854811463249384.0004a7f203de1eb115e18&hl=en&ie=UTF8&ll=38.788345,-96.811523&spn=26.927165,74.311523&z=5

REU Alumni: Please note the following opportunities: (1) Graduate Research Fellowship (GRF: http://www.nsfgrfp.org); (2) Graduate student summer experience abroad: East Asia Pacific Summer Institute Program (EAPSI: http://nsfsi.org/); and (3) Travel funds to present your REU project (http://www.bioreu.org).

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.bio@nsf.gov.

151 items found, displaying 41 to 60.[First/Prev] 1 2 3 4 5 [Next/Last]
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
Kettering University
REU Site: Utilizing Plants for Innovative Research (UPIR) - Cultivating the next generation of scientists and engineers
Chemistry, Biochemistry, Chemical Engineering & Applied Biology
Flint, Michigan
Primary: Lihua Wang
(810) 762-7917
lwang@kettering.edu
Secondary: James Cohen
(810) 249-4383
jcohen@kettering.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, plants, interdisciplinary, molecular biology, biochemistry, environmental studies, phylogenetics, chemistry, computational biology, material science, engineering
Abstract of Award
New Orleans, Louisiana
Primary: Fern Tsien
504-568-2080
fmille@lsuhsc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Genetics, Neurosciences, Biochemistry, Microbiology, Cell Biology, Physiology, Pharmacology
Comments: Heather Shields, Coordinator, SummerResearch@lsuhsc.edu, 504-568-7932
Abstract of Award
Woods Hole, Massachusetts
Primary: Allen Mensinger
218 726 7259
amensing@d.umn.edu
Secondary: Robert P Malchow
312-413-1552
paulmalc@uic.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: molecular and cell biology, neurobiology & behavior, physiology, and developmental biology
Comments: please send inquires to NSFREU@mbl.edu
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Ocean Sciences
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Primary: Edward Blumenthal
414-288-6270
edward.blumenthal@marquette.edu
Secondary: Gail Waring
414-288-7518
gail.waring@marquette.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biology, molecular, developmental, genetics, physiology, neurobiology, biochemistry, structural, microbial ecology
Comments: Point of contact: Edward Blumenthal, 414-288-6270, edward.blumenthal@marquette.edu
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Oxford, Ohio
Primary: Christopher A Makaroff
513-529-1659
makaroca@muohio.edu
Secondary: Blanton Tolbert
513-529-3734
tolberbs@muohio.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: chemistry
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Biological Sciences
Miami University
REU Site: Ecology in Human-Dominated Landscapes
Department of Zoology
Oxford, Ohio
Primary: David J Berg
513-785-3246
bergdj@miamioh.edu
Secondary: Ann L. Rypstra
513-785-3238
rypstral@miamioh.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Landscapes, terrestrial and aquatic ecology, conservation, diversity, behavior
Comments: For specific questions or comments please email: ecoreu@muohio. edu.
Abstract of Award
Michigan State University
REU Site: Ecological and Evolutionary Dynamics in a Changing World
W.K. Kellogg Biological Station
Hickory Corners, Michigan
Primary: Katherine Gross
269-671-2341
kgross@kbs.msu.edu
Secondary: Danielle Zoellner
269-671-2171
zoellne8@msu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: ecology, evolution, climate change, population dynamics, community assembly
Comments: Join a dynamic group of students and faculty at Kellogg Biological Station for an inspiring field research experience.
Abstract of Award
Michigan State University
REU Site: Plant Genomics at Michigan State University
Horticulture / Plant Biology / Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
East Lansing, Michigan
Primary: Cornelius Barry
517-884-6959
barrycs@msu.edu
Secondary: Robert Last
517-432-3278
lastr@msu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: plant genomics, molecular genetics, biochemistry, chemistry, computational biology
Comments: Point of contact: Krystle Wiegert-Rininger, 517-884-6961, plantgen@msu.edu
Abstract of Award
Michigan State University
REU Site: Integrative Biology of Social Behaviors (IBSB)
Psychology and Integrative Biology
East Lansing, Michigan
Primary: Joseph S. Lonstein
517-353-8675
lonstein@msu.edu
Secondary: Heather L. Eisthen
eisthen@msu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: animal behavior, endocrinology, neuroscience, evolution, psychology
Comments: Joseph S. Lonstein; Lonstein@msu.edu
Abstract of Award
Michigan State University
REU Site Research Experience in Structural and Functional Neural Biology for Undergraduates
Neuroscience Program
East Lansing, Michigan
Primary: William D. Atchison
517-432-2388
atchiso1@msu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: neuron, synaptic transmission, synapse, ion channel, neuroplasticity, autonomic nervouse system, neuromuscular junction, astrocyte
Comments: contact: Dr. Bill Atchison for application information
Abstract of Award
Mississippi State University
REU Site: Undergraduate Research in Computational Biology at Mississippi State University
Computer Science and Engineering
Mississippi State, Mississippi
Primary: Andy Perkins
(662) 325-0004
perkins@cse.msstate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Computational biology, bioinformatics, genomics, genetics, evolutionary biology
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering
St. Louis, Missouri
Primary: Wendy Applequist
(314) 577-0267
wendy.applequist@mobot.org
Secondary: Peter Hoch
(314) 577-5175
peter.hoch@mobot.org
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, botany, ecology, conservation, taxonomy, systematics, genetics, evolution, ethnobotany, restoration, pollination, morphology, biodiversity
Comments: Contact Wendy Applequist
Abstract of Award
Salisbury Cove, Maine
Primary: Paulyn Cartwright
(785) 864-4432
pcart@ku.edu
Secondary: Robert Morris
(508) 286-3953
morris_robert@wheatoncollege.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, comparative approaches, regeneration, genomics, genetics, cell biology, environmental biology
Comments: Primary contact - Chuck Fidler, cfidler@mdibl.org, 207-288-9880
Abstract of Award
National Museum of Natural History, Smithsonian Institution
REU Site: Natural History Research Experiences
Washington, District Of Columbia
Primary: Virginia Power
202-633-1055
powerv@si.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Geology, Biology, and Anthropology
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Biological Sciences
New York University
REU Site in Neural Science
Center for Neural Science
New York, New York
Primary: Chiye Aoki
212-998-3929
ca3@nyu.edu
Secondary: Administrator of Student Affairs
212-998-7779
surp@cns.nyu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, neuroscience, psychology
Abstract of Award
North Carolina State University
REU Site: Integrative Molecular Plant Systems
Plant and Microbial Biology
Raleigh, North Carolina
Primary: Susan Carson
(919) 515-3803
sdcarson@ncsu.edu
Secondary: Amy Grunden
(919) 513-4295
amy_grunden@ncsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, plant biology, molecular biology, genetic engineering, biofuels, sustainable agriculture, biotechnology, systems biology, bioinformatics, plant pathology
Comments: Imara Perera, Assistant Director, iperera@ncsu.edu
Abstract of Award
Boston, Massachusetts
Primary: Wendy Smith
617-373-2600
w.smith@neu.edu
Secondary: Rebeca Rosengaus
617-373-7032
r.rosengaus@neu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biology, interdisciplinary, development, regeneration, damage response, immunity
Abstract of Award
Ohio State University
REU Site: Undergraduate Research in Molecular Genetics
Molecular Genetics
Colombus, Ohio
Primary: Amanda Simcox
614-292-8857
simcox.1@osu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, genetics, molecular
Comments: Deborah Dotter 614-292-8084 dotter.4@osu.edu
Abstract of Award
Stillwater, Oklahoma
Primary: Gopal Kakani
405-744-4046
v.g.kakani@okstate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: bioenergy, bioproducts, microbiology, biochemistry, plant science, biosystems engineering
Comments: Laura Crutcher, laura.crutcher@okstate.edu, 405-744-2389
Abstract of Award
Malibu, California
Primary: Jay Brewster
(310) 506-4321
Jay.Brewster@pepperdine.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: ecology, cell biology, molecular biology, botany, genetics, cellular stress
Comments: Co-PI is co-PI (Dr. Rodney L. Honeycutt at rodney.honeycutt@pepperdine.edu
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
151 items found, displaying 41 to 60.[First/Prev] 1 2 3 4 5 [Next/Last]

Search Again

 

Back to Top of page