text-only page produced automatically by LIFT Text Transcoder Skip all navigation and go to page contentSkip top navigation and go to directorate navigationSkip top navigation and go to page navigation
National Science Foundation


REU Sites

REU Sites: Biological Sciences

APPLICATIONS: Students must contact the individual site or program to apply. NSF does not have application materials and does not select student participants.

ELIGIBILITY: Individual sites may have additional eligibility requirements (e.g., number of undergraduate years completed). Undergraduate student participants supported with NSF funds must be citizens or permanent residents of the United States or its possessions. High school graduates who have not yet enrolled, and students who have already received their bachelor's degrees, are not eligible.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION: Click on the Title of the Site in the "Site Information" column to go to the homepage (if available) for that Site. Sites are ordered alphabetically by host institution. All Sites provide stipends, housing and meals, in addition to travel to and from the Site. This listing will change as new REU Site awards are made. Sites are added or deleted as decisions are made on awards, and the list is updated periodically. Clicking on a highlighted site title should direct you to the web page for more information on that program. A link is also provided to allow you to view the geographic distribution of the programs (this link will take you to the Google Maps website). http://maps.google.com/maps/ms?msa=0&msid=201385854811463249384.0004a7f203de1eb115e18&hl=en&ie=UTF8&ll=38.788345,-96.811523&spn=26.927165,74.311523&z=5

REU Alumni: Please note the following opportunities: (1) Graduate Research Fellowship (GRF: http://www.nsfgrfp.org); (2) Graduate student summer experience abroad: East Asia Pacific Summer Institute Program (EAPSI: http://nsfsi.org/); and (3) Travel funds to present your REU project (http://www.bioreu.org).

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.bio@nsf.gov.

146 items found, displaying 41 to 60.[First/Prev] 1 2 3 4 5 [Next/Last]
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
Woods Hole, Massachusetts
Primary: Allen Mensinger
218 726 7259
amensing@d.umn.edu
Secondary: Robert P Malchow
312-413-1552
paulmalc@uic.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, ocean sciences, Woods Hole, marine, organismal behavior, molecular, cellular, neuroscience
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Ocean Sciences
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Primary: Edward Blumenthal
414-288-6270
edward.blumenthal@marquette.edu
Secondary: Gail Waring
414-288-7518
gail.waring@marquette.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biology, molecular, developmental, genetics, physiology, neurobiology, biochemistry, structural, microbial ecology
Comments: Point of contact: Edward Blumenthal, 414-288-6270, edward.blumenthal@marquette.edu
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Oxford, Ohio
Primary: Christopher A Makaroff
513-529-1659
makaroca@muohio.edu
Secondary: Blanton Tolbert
513-529-3734
tolberbs@muohio.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: chemistry
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Biological Sciences
Miami University
REU Site: Ecology in Human-Dominated Landscapes
Department of Zoology
Oxford, Ohio
Primary: Ann L. Rypstra
513-785-3238
rypstral@miamioh.edu
Secondary: David J. Berg
513-529-3174
bergdj@MUOhio.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Landscapes, terrestrial and aquatic ecology, conservation, diversity, behavior
Comments: For specific questions or comments please email: ecoreu@muohio. edu.
Abstract of Award
Michigan State University
REU Site: Plant Genomics at Michigan State University
Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
East Lansing, Michigan
Primary: Robert Last
517-432-3278
lastr@msu.edu
Secondary: Barry Cornelius
(517) 884-6959
barrycs@msu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, plant genomics, plant biology, plant biotechnology, bioinformatics
Comments: Point of Contact: Linda Savage, 517-432-3277, savage@msu.edu
Abstract of Award
Mississippi State University
REU Site: Undergraduate Research in Computational Biology at Mississippi State University
Computer Science and Engineering
Mississippi State, Mississippi
Primary: Andy Perkins
(662) 325-0004
perkins@cse.msstate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Computational biology, bioinformatics, genomics, genetics, evolutionary biology
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering
St. Louis, Missouri
Primary: David Bogler
314-577-0831
david.bogler@mobot.org
Secondary: Sandra Arango-Caro
314-651-1840
Sandra.Arango@mobot.org
Research Topics/Keywords: plants, botany, systematics, ethnobotany, conservation biology, phylogeny, pollen, pollination
Comments: program email: reu@mobot.org
Abstract of Award
Montana State University
REU Site: Mountains and Minds: A Program in Chemical Biology
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Bozeman, Montana
Primary: Mary Cloninger
406-994-3051
mcloninger@chemistry.montana.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: activity based protein profiling, radical reactions in biology, antimicrobial materials, protein-small molecule interactions, protein structure-function relationships, enzymology, metabolomics, bioins
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry
Salisbury Cove, Maine
Primary: James Claiborne
207-288-3605
jb@georgiasouthern.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, genetics, marine, genomics
Comments: Michael McKernan 207-288-3605 mmckernan@mdibl.org
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Ocean Sciences
National Museum of Natural History, Smithsonian Institution
REU Site: Natural History Research Experiences
Washington, District Of Columbia
Primary: Virginia Power
202-633-1055
powerv@si.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Geology, Biology, and Anthropology
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Biological Sciences
Socorro, New Mexico
Primary: Michael Pullin
575.835.6185
mpullin@nmt.edu
Secondary: Lisa Majkowski
505.835.6168
lisamt@nmt.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: environmental science, atmospheric chemistry, biogeochemistry, environmental chemistry
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Biological Sciences, Atmospheric and Geospace Sciences
New York University
REU Site in Neural Science
Center for Neural Science
New York, New York
Primary: Chiye Aoki
212-998-3929
ca3@nyu.edu
Secondary: Administrator of Student Affairs
212-998-7779
surp@cns.nyu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, neuroscience, psychology
Abstract of Award
North Carolina State University
REU Site: Integrative Molecular Plant Systems
Biotechnology Program and Department of Plant Biology
Raleigh, North Carolina
Primary: Susan Carson
919-513-0330
sue_carson@ncsu.edu
Secondary: Amy Grunden
919-513-4295
amy_grunden@ncsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: molecular biology, plant biology, biofuels, biotechnology, genomics, biochemistry
Abstract of Award
Flagstaff, Arizona
Primary: Amy Whipple
928-523-8727
amy.whipple@nau.edu
Secondary: Diana Anderson
Diana.Anderson@nau.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, environmental science, chemistry, geology, forestry, environmental engineering
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry
Ohio State University
REU Site: Undergraduate Research in Molecular Genetics
Molecular Genetics
Colombus, Ohio
Primary: Amanda Simcox
614-292-8857
simcox.1@osu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, genetics, molecular
Comments: Deborah Dotter 614-292-8084 dotter.4@osu.edu
Abstract of Award
Stillwater, Oklahoma
Primary: Sarah Lancaster
405-744-3525
sarah.lancaster@okstate.edu
Secondary: Gopal Kakani
405-744-4046
v.g.kakani@okstate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: bioenergy, bioproducts, microbiology, biochemistry, plant science, biosystems engineering
Comments: Laura Crutcher, laura.crutcher@okstate.edu, 405-744-2389
Abstract of Award
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Primary: Rudrabhatla, Sairam
717-948-6560
svr11@psu.edu
Secondary: Puthiyaparambil C Josekutty
717-948-6674
pcj11@psu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biofuels, Sustainable Energy, Plant Biotechnology, Tissue Culture, Genetic Engineering of Plants, Molecular Biology, Genomics and Proteomics
Abstract of Award
Malibu, California
Primary: Jay Brewster
(310) 506-4321
Jay.Brewster@pepperdine.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: ecology, cell biology, molecular biology, botany, genetics, cellular stress
Comments: Co-PI is co-PI (Dr. Rodney L. Honeycutt at rodney.honeycutt@pepperdine.edu
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Plymouth, New Hampshire
Primary: Michele Pruyn
603-535-3320
mlpruyn@plymouth.edu
Secondary: Timothy Fahey
607-255-5470
tjf5@cornell.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Ecosystems
Comments: For more information, please contact the program coordinator, Geoff Wilson (gwilson@hbresearchfoundation.com)
Abstract of Award
Princeton University
REU Site: Summer Research in Molecular Biophysics
Molecular Biology
Princeton, New Jersey
Primary: Jannette Carey
jcarey@princeton.edu
Secondary: Istvan Pelczer
ipelczer@princeton.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Molecular Biology, international, Czech Republic, biophysics
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry, International Science and Engineering
146 items found, displaying 41 to 60.[First/Prev] 1 2 3 4 5 [Next/Last]

Search Again

 

Back to Top of page