text-only page produced automatically by LIFT Text Transcoder Skip all navigation and go to page contentSkip top navigation and go to directorate navigationSkip top navigation and go to page navigation
National Science Foundation


REU Sites

REU Sites: Biological Sciences

APPLICATIONS: Students must contact the individual site or program to apply. NSF does not have application materials and does not select student participants.

ELIGIBILITY: Individual sites may have additional eligibility requirements (e.g., number of undergraduate years completed). Undergraduate student participants supported with NSF funds must be citizens or permanent residents of the United States or its possessions. High school graduates who have not yet enrolled, and students who have already received their bachelor's degrees, are not eligible.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION: Click on the Title of the Site in the "Site Information" column to go to the homepage (if available) for that Site. Sites are ordered alphabetically by host institution. All Sites provide stipends, housing and meals, in addition to travel to and from the Site. This listing will change as new REU Site awards are made. Sites are added or deleted as decisions are made on awards, and the list is updated periodically. Clicking on a highlighted site title should direct you to the web page for more information on that program. A link is also provided to allow you to view the geographic distribution of the programs (this link will take you to the Google Maps website). http://maps.google.com/maps/ms?msa=0&msid=201385854811463249384.0004a7f203de1eb115e18&hl=en&ie=UTF8&ll=38.788345,-96.811523&spn=26.927165,74.311523&z=5

REU Alumni: Please note the following opportunities: (1) Graduate Research Fellowship (GRF: http://www.nsfgrfp.org); (2) Graduate student summer experience abroad: East Asia Pacific Summer Institute Program (EAPSI: http://nsfsi.org/); and (3) Travel funds to present your REU project (http://www.bioreu.org).

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.bio@nsf.gov.

147 items found, displaying 21 to 40.[First/Prev] 1 2 3 4 5 [Next/Last]
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
East Tennessee State University
REU Site: Undergraduate Research in Integrative Developmental Biology
Biological Sciences
Johnson City, Tennessee
Primary: Rebecca A. Pyles
423-439-6077
pylesr@etsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: animal development; neurobiology; physiology; calcium metabolism; cell biology; skeleton; heart; eye; taste;
Comments: Additional Contact: James R. Stewart, stewarjr@etsu.edu, 423-439-6927
Abstract of Award
Field Museum of Natural History
REU Site: Access to Global Biodiversity Studies for Undergraduates
Zoology and Geology
Chicago, Illinois
Primary: Petra Sierwald
312-665-7744
sierwald@fieldmuseum.org
Secondary: Kenneth D. Angielczyk
312-665-7639
kangielczyk@fieldmuseum.org
Research Topics/Keywords: biodiversity research, molecular and morphological evolution, systematics, natural history collections, plants, animals, lichens
Comments: program coordinator: Stephanie Ware, sware@fieldmuseum.org
Abstract of Award
Florida A&M University
REU Site: Undergraduate Research Program in Genomics, Proteomics and Bioinformtics
Department of Biological Sciences
Tallahassee, Florida
Primary: Virginia A. Gottschalk
850-561-2750
virginia.gottschalk@famu.edu
Secondary: Ramesh Katam
850-559-3134
ramesh.katam@gmail.com
Research Topics/Keywords: Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, Biotechnology, Bioinformatics, Genomics, Proteomics
Comments: Lekan Latinwo, Ph.D. 850-599-3907 lekan.latinwo@famu.edu
Abstract of Award
Florida Institute of Technology
REU Site: Research at the Intersection of Biology and Mathematics
Biological Sciences and Mathematical Sciences
Melbourne, Florida
Primary: David Carroll
321-674-7133
dcarroll@fit.edu
Secondary: Munevver Subasi
321-674-7486
msubasi@fit.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Ecology, Evolution, Cell and Molecular Biology, Data Mining, Applied Statistics, Stochastic Processes, Biomathematics, Mathematical modeling, Developmental Biology
Comments: Contact Info: David Carroll, (321) 674-7133, dcarroll@fit.edu or Munevver Subasi (321) 674-7486, msubasi@fit.edu
Abstract of Award
Fordham University
REU Site: Calder Summer Undergraduate Research (CSUR) Program in Conservation and Urban Ecology
Louis Calder Center  Biological Field Station
Armonk, New York
Primary: John D Wehr
914-273-3078, ext. 11
wehr@fordham.edu
Secondary: James D Lewis
914-273-3078 ex
jdlewis@fordham.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: field biology, urban ecology, conservation, environmental science, ecosystem biology
Comments: Contact: Alissa Perrone; REUatCalder@fordham.edu; 914-273-3078 ext. 27
Abstract of Award
Fort Valley State University
REU Site: Summer Research Program in Biotechnology
Plant Biotechnology
Fort Valley, Georgia
Primary: Sarwan Dhir
478-825-6887
dhirs0@fvsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, plant biotechnology
Abstract of Award
Harvard University/Harvard Medical School
REU Site: Cell and Molecular Biology and Genetics
Division of Medical Sciences
Boston, Massachusetts
Primary: Sheila Thomas
617-432-4980
sthomas@fas.harvard.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Cell biology, Molecular Biology,Genetics, Biochemistry, Omics, Stem Cells, Systems Biology, Developmental Biology, Chemical Biology, Pathogens
Comments: Ms. KeyAnna Schmiedl; Contact information: shurp@hms.harvard.edu
Abstract of Award
Petersham, Massachusetts
Primary: Aaron Ellison
978-724-3302
aellison@fas.harvard.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, ecology, environmental, conservation, NEON
Comments: For general information and questions about the program, please email hfapps@fas.harvard.edu.
Abstract of Award
Toppenish, Washington
Primary: Nina Barcenas
509-865-0430
Barcenas_n@heritage.edu
Secondary: Kazuhiro Sonoda
509-865-8584
Sonoda_k@heritage.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Microbiology, plant pathology, plant evolution, DNA barcoding, molecular ecology, fisheries biology
Comments: Coordinator/contact Nina Barcenas.
Abstract of Award
Indiana University
REU Site in Animal Behavior
Department of Biology
Bloomington, Indiana
Primary: Laura M. Hurley,
lhurley@indiana.edu
Secondary: CISAB
(812) 855-9663
cisab@indiana.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, animal behavior, psychology, anthropology, genetics, neuroscience
Comments: Point of contact: CISAB (812) 855-9663 cisab@indiana.edu
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Social, Behavioral, and Economic Sciences, Ethics and Values Studies
Millbrook, New York
Primary: Alan Berkowitz
845-677-7600
berkowitza@caryinstitute.org
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, ecology, environmental, conservation, plant, soils
Comments: Patricia Zolnik, 945-677-7600 ext. 326, zolnikp@caryinstitute.org.
Abstract of Award
Ames, Iowa
Primary: Kan Wang
515-294-4429
kanwang@iastate.edu
Secondary: Max Rothschild
515-294-6202
reu@iastate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, Molecular Biology, Biotechnology, Genomics, Genetics, Agriculture, plant, animal, microbe
Comments: Please send inquiries to reu@iastate.edu
Abstract of Award
Bar Harbor, Maine
Primary: Robert E.Braun
207-288-6841
bob.braun@jax.org
Research Topics/Keywords: Functional Genomics
Comments: Contact Lisa John, Training Coordinator, (207) 288-6924, summerstudents@jax.org
Abstract of Award
Johns Hopkins University
REU Site: Program in Nanotechnology for Biology and Bioengineering
Institute for NanoBioTechnology
Baltimore, Maryland
Primary: Denis Wirtz
410-516-8094
wirtz@jhu.edu
Secondary: Hai-Quan Mao
410-516-8792
hmao@jhu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: nanobiotechnology, biotechnology, nanoparticles, nanotechnology, biology, biophysics, bioengineering, engineering, chemical engineering
Comments: Contact Ashanti Edwards, aedwards@jhu.edu 410-516-6572
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry, Engineering
Johns Hopkins University
REU Site: Visualization of Macromolecules in Biological Research
Department of Biology
Baltimore, Maryland
Primary: Joel Schildbach
410-516-0176
joel@jhu.edu
Secondary: Michael McCaffery
(410)-516-3321
mccaffery@jhu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: developmental biology, cell biology, biochemistry, biophysics, imaging, electron microscopy, fluorescence, NMR, microscopy,
Comments: Program Coordinator: Jessica Kastner, jess.kastner@jhu.edu; Program Administrator: Joan Miller, joan@jhu.edu
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry
Manhattan, Kansas
Primary: Bruce A. Snyder
785-532-2430
basnyder@ksu.edu
Secondary: Theodore J. Morgan
785-532-6126
tjmorgan@ksu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Ecology, Evolution, Genomics, Wildlife, Prairie, Grassland
Comments: Main contact is Dr. Snyder. Program email is biologyreu@ksu.edu
Abstract of Award
Union, New Jersey
Primary: Daniela Shebitz
908-737-3360
dshebitz@kean.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: tropical ecology; microbial ecology; tropical botany; medicinal plants; tropical zoology; restoration ecology; nutrient chemistry
Abstract of Award
Kent State University, Holden Arboretum
REU Site: Terrestrial-aquatic linkages in urban impacted ecosystems
Biological Sciences
Kent, Ohio
Primary: Mark Kershner
330-672-3713
mkershne@kent.edu
Secondary: Kurt Smemo
(440) 602-8011
ksmemo@holdenarb.org
Research Topics/Keywords: ecology, behavior, terrestrial, aquatic, urban, insect, plant, soil
Abstract of Award
New Orleans, Louisiana
Primary: Fern Tsien
504-568-2080
fmille@lsuhsc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Genetics, Neurosciences, Biochemistry, Microbiology, Cell Biology, Physiology, Pharmacology
Comments: Heather Shields, Coordinator, SummerResearch@lsuhsc.edu, 504-568-7932
Abstract of Award
Woods Hole, Massachusetts
Primary: Allen Mensinger
218 726 7259
amensing@d.umn.edu
Secondary: Robert P Malchow
312-413-1552
paulmalc@uic.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: molecular and cell biology, neurobiology & behavior, physiology, and developmental biology
Comments: please send inquires to NSFREU@mbl.edu
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Ocean Sciences
147 items found, displaying 21 to 40.[First/Prev] 1 2 3 4 5 [Next/Last]

Search Again

 

Back to Top of page