text-only page produced automatically by LIFT Text Transcoder Skip all navigation and go to page contentSkip top navigation and go to directorate navigationSkip top navigation and go to page navigation
National Science Board
dividing line
Members by Term
dividing line
Chairmen and Vice Chairmen
dividing line
Former Members
dividing line
The Nomination Process
dividing line
Group Photo
dividing line
NSB Staff
dividing line
Contact NSB
dividing line
NSB Site Map
dividing line
Go to NSF  Go to USA.gov

Members by Term

Terms expire May 10, 2016

  • Dan E. Arvizu - NSB Chairman; Director and Chief Executive; National Renewable Energy Laboratory
  • Kelvin K. Droegemeier - NSB Vice Chairman; Vice President for Research; Regents' Professor of Meteorology Weathernews Chair; Emeritus University of Oklahoma
  • Bonnie Bassler - Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator, Squibb Professor of Molecular Biology; Princeton University
  • Arthur Bienenstock - Professor Emeritus of Photon Science; Stanford University
  • Alan Leshner - Chief Executive Officer and Executive Publisher, Science; American Association for the Advancement of Science
  • W. Carl Lineberger - Fellow of JILA, E. U. Condon Distinguished Professor of Chemistry, University of Colorado
  • Anneila I. Sargent - Ira S. Bowen Professor of Astronomy; Vice President for Student Affairs; California Institute of Technology
  • Robert J. Zimmer - President; University of Chicago

Terms expire May 10, 2018

  • Deborah L. Ball - William H. Payne Collegiate Chair; Arthur F. Thurnau Professor; Dean of the School of Education; The University of Michigan
  • Vinton G. Cerf - Vice President and Chief Internet Evangelist for GOOGLE
  • Ruth David - President and CEO, Analytic Services, Inc.
  • Inez Fung - Professor of Atmospheric Science, UC-Berkeley
  • G. Peter Lepage - Professor of Physics; Harold Tanner Dean, College of Arts and Sciences; Cornell University
  • Stephen L. Mayo - Bren Professor of Biology and Chemistry William K. Bowes Jr. Leadership Chair Division of Biology and Biological Engineering California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, CA
  • Geraldine Richmond - Richard M. and Patricia H. Noyes Professor of Chemistry, University of Oregon
  • Maria T. Zuber - Vice President for Research, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Terms expire May 10, 2020

  • Robert M. Groves - Provost, Georgetown University
  • G. P. "Bud" Peterson - President, Georgia Tech
  • John L. Anderson - President, Illinois Institute of Technology (IIT)
  • Roger Beachy - Executive Director of the World Food Center at the University of California, Davis
  • Vicki Chandler - Chief Program Officer, Science The Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation
  • James S. Jackson - Daniel Katz Distinguished University Professor of Psychology; Professor of Afroamerican and African Studies Director and Research Professor of the Institute for Social Research
  • Sethuraman Panchanathan - Senior Vice-President Office of Knowledge Enterprise Development (OKED), Arizona State University

Ex-Officio Member


For more information about file formats used on the NSF site, please see the Plug-ins and Viewers page.

Print this page NSF_NSB Twitter Follow Button Back to Top of page
  NSB Home | Web Policies & Important Links | Privacy | FOIA | Help | Contact NSB | Contact NSB Webmaster | NSB Site Map  
National Science Board
The National Science Board, 4201 Wilson Boulevard, Arlington, Virginia 22230, USA
Tel: (703) 292-7000, FIRS: (800) 877-8339 | TDD: (800) 281-8749
Last Updated:
May 21, 2014
Text Only

\ Last Updated: Apr 30, 2009